Cracking the Sky

I sat rocking Carley tonight and reflected over the day.  What a day it was.  I was so frazzled.  I think all 3 of my children got together and decided to join forces and go against me.  Derek sometimes sees himself as “the man of the house” and my equal.  That presents a challenge when I tell him to do something or not to do something.  Most of the time, he is a fantastic child, but every once in awhile, he decides to go toe-to-toe with me.  He did that today. Very difficult.  Carley is my “I’m going to challenge all the boundaries” girl.  She can be so sweet.  But today was a constant battle with her.  Very tiring.  And Justin is my tenderhearted child.  However, tonight, he didn’t like a decision I made, so he decided he was running away.  Wow.  It was hard to let him go.  Very emotional.  I cried as I watched him turn around to look at me and then continue on his way.  My good friend brought him home a short time later.  Thanks, Mel.  I know most of you have probably dealt with all these things and might even be chuckling.  Today was draining for me.  Maybe someday I can chuckle, too.  I so miss that “grounding” capability Stef had for me.  He was able to calm me down like no one else could.  I know he would have given me a hug at the end of the day, and it would have made everything else seem not so bad.  So, after some cleansing tears, I pulled myself together, and tried to focus on something positive.  That’s when I remembered a cute story from lunch.  Carley stood up in her chair and remarked on how tall she was getting.  She said, “Mom, I’m almost tall enough to crack the sky.”  When I asked her why she would want to crack the sky, she said, “Because then I could see daddy.”  If only it were that easy.  So, if I could crack the sky, I guess I would just want a hug for a hard day.  Hopefully, a good night’s rest for those 3 precious children will help all of us.  Hopefully, we’ll all be refreshed for tomorrow.  After all, tomorrow is another day.  Another day to start fresh.  Another day to be thankful that I have 3 healthy children.  Another day to appreciate the sunshine.  Another day…

Leave a Reply

