Three Individuals…

Yesterday was the 2 month anniversary of Stefan’s passing. When I woke up yesterday, I was not too excited for what the day might hold. The Lord had something else in mind. Some of you, after reading this post, might wonder why I’m making such a big deal of these events, but to me, each child shined. As I was getting Carley dressed yesterday, she suddenly stopped me and said she wanted to button her own sweater. For those of you who know me well, that was hard for me because I’m a control freak and it’s hard to relinquish some duties. Anyway, I waited patiently as she buttoned the two buttons. I had a few tears in my eyes as I realized it was the first time she had done this. I immediately hugged her and said, “You’re daddy would have loved to see that. He would be SO proud of you.” Shortly after that, we headed out to Derek’s soccer game. He got 5 goals in his game. I was so proud of him. But I made sure to tell him that his dad would have loved that game and would have been so excited for him. After his game, Justin wanted to go to the cemetery. After finding a friend who could watch Derek (he said he is not ready for that yet), we headed out. It was so bittersweet to watch Justin with his face pressed against the van window (it was raining so we couldn’t get out) mourn for his dad. He had wanted to go for so long and yesterday he was finally able to have some private time with his dad. So, once I reflected on the day, I realized that it wasn’t the horrible day I thought it was going to be, but a day of shining for these three sweet kids.

3 Responses

  1. Sandi,
    I’m glad to hear that your day turned out to be shining! You just never know what God has in store for us. We just need to keep trusting in him. I hope and pray that He has many more shining days up ahead for all of you.
    Sue

  2. Sandi,
    So glad the day went well and that you were able to relish the kids and their accomplishments! You have wonderful kids and you will keep Stef’s memory ALIVE by reminding them how proud he would be of them and how much he loves them!
    Praying for you!
    Jill

  3. God holds your heart in his hands. Those weren’t little things at all….. they were those special touches from God through your children reminding you how much He cares. We are still praying for you!

Leave a Reply

