Update and Thank You

I just wanted to give a quick update to let everyone know where things are.  Stef is still holding his own.  He continues to amaze me.  What an amazing will he is showing.  Our hospice staff has been phenomenal.  They have dropped in every day except for Saturday to check on Stef as well as the rest of us.  I will try to update with any changes in Stef.   It has been a little stressful for me in the home the past few days as he has been confused.  I tend to get somewhat anxious when he is trying to get out of his bed or chair.  I’ve quickly learned that this does not help him settle down.   I’ve also learned that my control-freak personality doesn’t alway work for everyone.  Stef didn’t ever mention that he minded it before, but it really seems to bother him now. 🙂  So, we continue to operate from day to day.  Thanks for the continued support and concern.

I also want to say THANK YOU to so many friends who took time to make my birthday today so special.  I got so many emails, facebook messages, text messages, cards,  and phone calls.  It was overwhelming.  It really made this day special.  Also, thanks to all the girls who all met out for lunch.  You girls  are truly wonderful.  It was nice to get out of the house for a little while.  And thank you to Aaron for sitting with Stef so I could get out.  Considering the circumstances, this was a great birthday.  So, while it bothered me to turn yet another year older, it was great to know so many wonderful friends cared.

Also, I want to thank all of those who continue to sit with Stef through the night.  It is nice to be able to get some rest.  And finally, thank you to the amazing cooks who have brought so many meals to our family.  We are so grateful.  The last couple days, I have pretty much had to sit right beside Stef, so it has been nice not having to worry about trying to fix a meal as well.

Sorry for the rambling.  I just want everyone to know that nothing goes unnoticed or unappreciated.

5 Responses

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, SANDI. I was thinking of you earlier today, but I just got home from work. We continue to pray for Stef and your family every single day.
    Missi

  2. Prayed right now for you. There are so many things I wish I could express to you that would give you peace but nothing seems appropriate. My heart aches for your family and the enormous emotional toll this is taking. May God hold you up and hold you close and give you rest.

  3. Friends who I have praying for Stef continue to ask about how he is doing. Thank you for the update. I’m so excited about your birthday celebration! It sounds like you were able to have a great day! Praise the Lord! Give Stef a squeeze from me and let him know I’m praying for him & you & the kids daily! Stef always had fire in his belly about life & taking it head on! I guess he continues to prove & show his tenacity! Way to Go Stef…REFUSE TO LOSE!

  4. Stef, you are never far from my mind…I think of you many times daily. Even in your weakest moments, you remain my hero.

    –Brad Silvius

  5. Praying that the week is going well as you settle in at home. You are in our thoughts and prayers each day and we so appreciate these updates. Thankful you have people in the home, at night, so you can get your rest as well.

Leave a Reply

