Staying Here

Sorry, that I have not posted in quite some time.  We have had some ups and downs for the past two weeks.  The past few days, our insurance company has really been trying to move us out of here, so that has been incredibly stressful.  But thanks to some good friends and people here at The James, we don’t have to leave.  The insurance company will evaluate again in a week if we are still here then.  I was so stressed about this, so it is so nice to be able to breathe a little bit.  Stef is not doing very well today.  He has been sleeping most of the day.  I am so thankful for the last couple weeks when he was able to communicate more.  Even though emotionally it was a roller coaster, I really treasure those moments. Thanks to everyone who has been so supportive.  And a big thank you to Shelley, Mary and Tiffany.  I really appreciate the work you guys did in keeping us here.

12 Responses

  1. It is a true blessing that he doesn’t have to leave. I am sure it has been very stressful on you and your family. As always, you are in our thoughts and prayers!

  2. Stef and Sandi, I don’t think you remember me, but I was at Cedarville at the same time you were there, and I know Mark and Jocelyn Kakkuri from our church here in Michigan. Jocelyn asked for prayer for you, so I went online and found your blog. Please know that I am praying for your entire family. I will continue to pray that God would be more than enough for all of you, including the children.

    Grace and peace to you,

    Heidi (Krueger) Streetman Cedarville class of ’94

  3. Praying that all continues to work out with the insurance. Praise God for the answered prayer this week with that. We all continue to lift you up in prayer!
    Brian and Janet Megilligan

  4. Continually praying for you guys! I’m so grateful for the answered prayer and you guys get to stay for now. It was answered before I could get back to ask choir/orchestra to even pray about it! Praise God!!

  5. We continue praying for you guys…

    Thanks for doing all you have at keeping us update on life for you guys.

    Praying for Peace & Comfort during these difficult days!

  6. Hi Sandi – I just wanted to let you now we are praying for God to move through Stef. Heavenly Father, come down and clean him and make him whole! We have faith Father that you can do this! Like your Word tells us, we believe – We are just waiting for you to act on our tears of prayers. Please Lord, hear our cry for your child!

    We love you both and hold you close in our hearts during this difficult time Sandi. Thank you for sharing.

  7. I’m glad you have been able to keep Stef there. Please let me know if you need any additional help arguing with insurance companies…that’s what I did at my last job…I sort of enjoy it knowing that the patient should ALWAYS

  8. I’m glad you have been able to keep Stef there. Please let me know if you need any additional help arguing with insurance companies…that’s what I did at my last job…I sort of enjoy it knowing that the patient should ALWAYS come first! 🙂 Especially Stef! 🙂 I hope you are able to get some rest. You are all in our hearts and thoughts each day! WE LOVE THE TARAPCHAKS! love Laurie

  9. Hello….My nephew was recently diagnosed with Burkitt’s Lymphoma at 2 years old. I found Steph’s blog through Tyler Alfriend’s blog. I am realizing that the cancer world is a small one. It breaks my heart to hear of Steph’s suffering. I pray that he will be healed and have more time to enjoy his family and life in general. I appreciate the posts on this blog so much. Take care, Natalie

  10. Sandi,

    I worked with Steph at Arthur Andersen 14 years ago and he is the most caring and generous person that I ever met. I spent a lot of time with him in West Virginia and was fortunate enough to attend your wedding. My family and I are praying for you all. Steph and I had been e-mailing each other in October when I became aware of his condition. All his buddies from Arthur Andersen are thinking of him and you.

  11. Sandi and Stef,

    After 4 days of irradicating James’ body to prepare him for his BMT the hospital insurance nazi tried to tell us he didn’t have anymore coverage the day before the transplant. Lisa was drug out of James’ room and into an awaiting elevator of visitors. The discussion continued to the first floor and after Lisa was done with the insurance issue she was applauded by the entire car full that had just witnessed what all of us have had to do to present common sense to the paper pushers. WE love you both and are praying and rejoicing for the answered prayers and precious moments granted these past few weeks. Do not worry about the future…live each minute. Prayers for rest, seconds of joy and bushels of comfort, peace and understanding.

  12. Really great post/article really informative.

Leave a Reply

