Much To Be Thankful For…

I know I said it might be awhile until I posted again, but I wanted to give a quick little update.  Stefan has been much more alert the last couple of days.  It has been so nice to sit and visit with him even briefly.  The kids have also enjoyed being able to talk with him.  We are so thankful for these times.  And once again, we are so thankful for such a wonderful doctor.  Dr. Martin actually had his son drop him off at the hospital while he ran some errands so he could visit with us for a short time.  It was so touching to have him stop in on Thanksgiving morning.  He was very encouraged to see Stef more alert.  We’re still going from day to day, but it is so nice to have these moments.  So, even though we are here at the hospital today, we are so thankful for so many things—Stef’s moments of being awake, our amazing doctor, our incredible friends, and our church family who has truly gathered around us by sitting with Stefan overnight, providing meals, and encouraging us in so many ways.  Please know how thankful we are and that we don’t take any of these things for granted.  I hope everyone has a wonderful Thanksgiving.

22 Responses

  1. Stef & Sandi – We love you both! Wonderful news that Stef has been much more alert. We are praying that you and the kids will have a blessed Thanksgiving together. Todd, Marlo, Madison & Jordan

  2. Sandi, Stef, and kids,

    Have a blessed Thanksgiving and savor every moment with each other…and like you said, we all have so much to be thankful for.
    Take care,
    the Spaine’s
    Holly Springs, NC

  3. Blessings to your family.

  4. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

    The Alfriend’s

  5. Praise God for a good day… praying faithfully for you.

  6. We are so glad that Stefan has been more alert…especially for Thanksgiving. You are in our thoughts and prayers.

  7. We love you guys so much!! You were in our thoughts all day and we talked about you lots too (only good stuff, I promise!). I’m glad that you were able to enjoy Thanksgiving a little. I know it’s not what you would have wished for but I’m glad it was better than you expected. It was so awesome to hear that Dr Martin came in to visit, I know that meant so much to you both! I hope you both were able to enjoy some of the meal that Grandma made! We love you!

    Kristen, Marc & Charli

  8. Praise the Lord ! I am so very happy to hear Stef was altert for Thanksgiving.
    You are all in my thoughts and prayers constantly. Lots of Love…

  9. That’s wonderful news about Step being more alert. What a blessing for the kids to be with him during that time. Praying all the time for you all!

  10. Praying for you, Stef and the kids EVERY day, several times a day.

    Psalm 103
    A psalm of David.
    1 Let all that I am praise the LORD;
    with my whole heart, I will praise his holy name.
    2 Let all that I am praise the LORD;
    may I never forget the good things he does for me.
    3 He forgives all my sins
    and heals all my diseases.
    4 He redeems me from death
    and crowns me with love and tender mercies.
    5 He fills my life with good things.
    My youth is renewed like the eagle’s!

    May God bless you

  11. Stef and Sandi,

    How great to hear that Stef was alert for Thanksgiving! And what thankful hearts you have! And what a great God we serve!

    Know that we are constantly praying for you and be encouraged that the Lord hears the cries of His children.

  12. Stef Sandi and family:

    How wonderful the Lord gave you a memorable Thanksgiving. We are praying for you many times a day. Lord bless you.

    Pasor & Mrs Frey

  13. God Bless you Stef and Sandy! A wonderful Thanksgiving. God is so gracious.

  14. THanks for taking the time to update…it’s encouraging to see how the Lord is answering prayer! Years ago, a dear saint at our church said that when she couldn’t sleep at night, she took it as a prompting from the Lord that someone needed prayer. I took that to heart. This past week, I’ve been having bouts of insomnia. The upside, is that you’re being prayed for around the clock!

    Much love and prayers for your entire family!!
    Sue

  15. Sandi,
    Thanks so much for taking the time to continue to update the blog!
    Also, thank you so much for the opportunity to visit with you and Stef last Monday. What a blessing it was to be there when he was awake and get to talk with him a bit!
    My family continues to hold you and your family up in prayer everyday.

    With Love and Prayers,
    Dianne

  16. We are praying daily for you all. Our 3 daughters pray daily for you as well, and ask frequently how they can pray. May God continue to bless you with good moments.

    love and prayers,
    Dave & Danna Dykema
    Danielle, Denise, and Delaney

  17. Sandi,
    I know Stef from Cedarville. Please know that my family and I continue to pray for him and you and the kids. Couldn’t stop thinking/praying for you on Thanksgiving. How just like our Father to give you such a time to cherish. Stef wrote on my FB a few months ago not to be sad because no matter what “we will win.” I hold on to that for all of you.
    “I waited patiently for the Lord. He turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit; out of the mud and mire. He set my feet on a rock; gave me a firm place to stand, now here I am. ”
    This is my prayer for you.
    Because of His Grace,
    Heather Hidalgo Brainard

  18. Stef–I have been thinking alot about your slogan for this journey you have been on–“Refuse to Lose”. I have decided that you are definately not losing. “We” are losing–‘we’ are losing a husband, a father, a great friend, a neighbor, a son, a brother, a co-worker, a golfing buddy. You, however, are not losing, you are winning–you are winning your spot in heaven. God has chosen you for something special. Thank you for this blog and for sharing your journey with all of us. You have made us laugh, you have made us cry, but most of all, you have inspired us that no matter what challenges our own journeys may bring, we must “Refuse to Lose”! We love you guys and will always be right there next door for Sandi and your beautiful kids. God Bless!

    Kelly

  19. Hi,

    I have not posted here before and I have no prayers to offer as I am not a religious person. But you have been in my heart for some time now and I only want to say that you Sandi and Stef are both wonderful people. I think of you both often and hope for the best for you and the kids.

  20. We continune to hold you up before the Lord. May God grant you the grace and peace that you need!

    You are in our prayers.

    the Bush family, Zeeland MI

  21. Hello Tarapchaks
    I just wanted to leave a note to say that we love you all. You are in our hearts and thoughts each day. As the holidays began with Thanksgiving, I am thankful for the Tarapchaks being in our life and being able to say that you are my friends. It was good to see Stefs sparkle and humor the other day. And also to see that he was able to nap a bit! 🙂 I hope you have a great week and that the kids continue to have some good daddy time with him. Sandi, Stef is so very lucky to have you as his friend, wife, and sweetheart. 🙂 Your grace and strength has encouraged me to be a better wife and partner.
    Love and Joy to you

    Laurie Beitzel

  22. Sandi,
    I know Stef from Nationwide Children’s Hospital. Thanks for posting this blog so we may all keep informed of how his journey is going. I think about how he is doing every single day and pray for him and your entire family every single night. May God continue to bless you and your children with special moments.

Leave a Reply

