Staying Put

Well, we are staying here at The James.  After meeting with Dr. Martin yesterday morning, we have made the decision to stay here.  He felt most comfortable keeping him here instead of transitioning to our home.  Stef had a bad night on Tuesday night. He had some trouble breathing and felt as though the room was spinning.  He felt hot as well and his oxygen levels were not where the nurses wanted them to be.  They have hooked him up to oxygen so that he can breathe a little easier.  It was also discovered yesterday that he has pneumonia.  They are treating him for this, but it is not uncommon since he is not really moving around that much.  The past few days have been pretty rough with many things we have had to deal with.  I would once ask again for prayer for the days ahead as we don’t know what they may hold.  I brought the kids up last night to see Stef and we had such a great visit.  I am going to bring them up again on Friday night from about 5pm – 7pm and would ask that we be able to spend that time together as a family.  Anytime before or after that we would definitely welcome visitors.  I really appreciate those of you who have contacted me over the last few days either by email, phone, or on the blog.  Although I haven’t been able to answer all calls, please know that I appreciate the concern.  I have so appreciated all the support I have gotten.  Please remember to pray for our 3 sweet children.  They have so much going on in their little lives.  Have a good evening and thanks for checking in with us.

41 Responses

  1. We’re praying for you guys! Love to all of you.

  2. Sorry to hear you didn’t get to go home. Glad to hear the kids are getting to spend time with both of you. 🙂

    Praying for all of you.

  3. We are praying for you!!! If there is anything we can do for your family please let us know.

  4. We’re praying for you guys! May you feel His arms wrapped around you during this time.
    Love,
    Brad, Andrea & boys

  5. Praying for you and your family as I read your blog. May you feel God’s peace during all of this, and His guidance.

  6. Stef and Sandi,
    You are in our prayers! We’d love to help out in any way, just let us know.
    God Bless,
    The Lusher Family

  7. This is my first contact with you, Stef and Sandi, but Ron Walker has been keeping us up to date here in the DBA at Cedarville. We have been praying for a long time for you. It is amazing how our lives have changed since you were in my accounting classes, Stef. You have definitely been a sucess, according to any definition but especially according to God’s. Sandi, I remember you as a small child in third grade SS.

    I know God is working in your lives. It isn’t fun but it does glorify Him each day as you pass through this testing time.

    Keep on resting in His hands as He has promised nothing can pluck you out of them.

    Sarah (and Barry) Smith

  8. Praying for all of you!!

  9. We are praying for you too. So glad that you got to spend time with the kids this week, and will be praying for a wonderful visit tonight as well.

  10. Stef and Sandi,
    Just wanted you to know that we continue to pray for you and for the kids. May you have a sweet time together tonight as a family. May God’s arms of comfort wrap around you.
    Carire & Bruce

  11. Hello Stef and Sandi,

    May God bless you and your family tonight as you meet together. I am praying for you.

  12. Sharon and I are praying for your entire family.

  13. Hello Sandi ,
    You guys are always in my prayers . I check in every day to see how my Cuz is doing . I know that we have never met , but you are an amazing woman , wife and mother. Please give Stef a kiss for me .

  14. Sandi and Stef,

    We continue to pray for you and your family. Canaan wanted all of you to know that he prays for you every night. I hope that you have a wonderful visit with your children tonight.

  15. YOU ARE IN OUR PAYERS. CHRIS

  16. Hi, I’ve been following your blog for many months now. I found you because I’m also fighting the fight and am a mother of 3 young children. I’m commenting now because I live in Israel near the Jordan river and although I’m not a Christian – I will say a prayer for you tomorrow when I cross the place where the Jordan flows out of the Sea of Galilee. Have strength!

  17. We are praying for you and the family.
    Love In Christ,
    The Harringtons

  18. My prayers for peace and strength are with all of you. I am glad you are in a place you feel rest and security knowing you are getting the best care at this time. The more you pray the more God reveals his plans for you. Stay strong and love each other every minute of every day!

  19. We are praying constantly for each of you by name. We are praying for a hedge of protection around your precious family,for sweet, amazing times together as a family, and for our Heavenly Father, that loves each of you more than we can possibly understand, to lavish His Peace on each of you that truly passess ALL understanding. We love you all!
    Dale, Jen & the kids

  20. I’ve been blessed to be back in Columbus and get to hang with Stef. Praying for your family regularly. Though I don’t comprehend the difficulty you’re experiencing, I’ve been away from my kids for about 8 weeks, so I know the emptiness of that feeling. So glad they get to see Daddy soon!

  21. you are in our thoughts and prayers and please know that we love you and are praying for you and Stef and your 3 precious children. We pray that “the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus” Phil 4:7 Love, Sharon & Sean

  22. It was good to see you today and know I love you both so much and know that God is being bombarded with prayers for you guys!!

  23. We are praying for all of you! We hope your kids are with you right now and enjoying their family time. Those hospital beds can be quite entertaining – especially if you have one that goes four feet up in the air!!! It’s amazing how a hospital can become a playground for the kids. Of course, I am remembering Childrens’ Hospital – that may make a difference. 🙂 But know that we are praying along with SO many others!

  24. Stef, Sandi and family,

    Praying for you all to have a wonderful family time tonight and in the days to come. Also that you will feel God’s arms surrounding you.

    We are holding you up in prayer.

    Jim and Karla Tolson (NWB)

  25. I continue to pray for you guys. God is always with you.

  26. Praying peace, comfort, and healing. Enjoy your family time!

  27. Stef
    We pray for your comfort and that God will take away your pain and begin to heal you.
    Sandi
    We pray for your continued strength. You are an incredible wife and mother.

    Love to you both.

  28. Continuing to pray for all of you.

  29. Stef and Sandi,
    Nicholas continues to think of Derek and is sad that ‘his Daddy is sick.’ He floods us with memories of ‘friends together.’ Please know that Nicholas prays for you all, as we do also!
    We wish we were Columbus, Ohio to help out in more ways than prayers, but that is the best way; God is Good~
    Thinking of you all…
    The Spaine’s
    Holly Springs, NC

  30. Stef and Sandi

    Rest in Him!

    You are prayed for.

    Chris

  31. Continuing to pray for you all…
    Much love,
    Dave and Nikki Mazon

  32. I am praying for you all.

  33. Thinking about you…..as always! I hope your visit went well with the little ones last night. The girls said a special prayer for you and your family. They ask how you are doing everyday. We miss you!

  34. Stef, Sandi,

    Our prayers are with you. We are thinking about Derek a lot and hope that his Dad can pull through this. You have a wonderful family, and we pray to God you all can heal soon.

    Brian and Michelle Fleischman

  35. We are praying for the comfort and security that comes with having a wonderful medical staff nearby. Also praying for your precious children and the time they had with their Daddy.

  36. Stef and Sandi:

    Daily carrying you and your family around in my thoughts and prayers. Thanks for proving how great our God is. He is mighty and using you mightily.

    Brad

  37. I try to check in every day to see how things are going. As well, me and the family pray for you and Stef everyday, and for the children. I appreciate you taking the time to keep up posted during your already busy day. Love and prayers, Missi

  38. Stef and Sandi – We are thinking of you and your family often and praying for all of you. I hope you had a great visit with the kids on last night.
    Tiff

  39. Stef and Sandi – We are thinking of you and your family often and praying for all of you. I hope you had a great visit with the kids last night.

  40. Dear Stef and Sandi:

    We are praying for you, trust your time as a family was precious. Out church in Conneaut Lake today had a special prayer time for all of you.

    Pastor & Mrs Frey

  41. We are praying for all of you! We constantly thinking of you!

    Mike,Kelly,Liv and Michael

Leave a Reply

