Rough Day

Stef has had a very rough day today.  It started at 6am as we prepared for the surgical procedure of placing his PEG tube.  Instead of the 45 minutes it was supposed to take, it took a little over 3 1/2 hours.  They were unable to place the PEG tube and instead did a normal gastrostomy tube.  The difference is basically the placement procedure I believe.  There was too much cancer in front of the stomach to see the light through the skin to place it that way.  So instead they made a cut through the skin and did it from the outside instead of placing it from the inside.  Anyway, he has had massive amounts of pain today.  We requested no visitors for this evening because he was having such a rough time.  The pain management doctors have been trying to help him, but they are unable to control the pain.  I just called him a little while ago and he was unable to talk to me because of the pain.  Please pray that this pain would be taken away.  Thanks for the concern as always.  Today has been one of our rougher days.  We just need to see a little light.  Hopefully, tomorrow will be brighter.

25 Responses

  1. Sandi and Stef –

    I continue to pray that God will be both of your provider, your strength, your strong tower and your portion. I am so sorry to hear that the day went tougher then expected. May the new day that rises tomorrow bring you some light and healing in this latest journey. We continue to pray for you all. Love you guys.

  2. Sandi & Stef~

    I am lifting you both up in prayer. God brings you to my mind quite frequently. My kids have become prayer warriors for your family. I have a lot to learn about praying for others from my 9 and 7 year old kids. I will be especially praying for pain management tonight and some “light” tomorrow.

    Amy

  3. Our hearts are heavy for you. Praying, always.

  4. Stef & Sandi, continuing to pray for you. I’m sorry the procedure didn’t go as planned. I’ll be praying specifically for Stef’s pain and God’s comfort.

  5. Stef & Sandi,

    Just letting you know that were praying everyday for you guys!! Thanks Sandi for keeping us updated!!
    Take care and just remember we are here if you need anything!
    Carla

  6. Stef & Sandi,

    Just letting you know that were praying everyday for you guys!! Thanks Sandi for keeping us updated!!
    Take care and just remember we are here if you need anything!
    Carla

  7. Stef & Sandi,

    Stay strong! This will pass and you’ll both get to rest again.

    I remember when my wife was battling cancer and she would be in and out of the hospital. The days that she came home we did nothing but rest and watch TV, talk, listen to the radio, and just lay in bed together. They were some of the best days of my life.

    Focus on today and draw strength from resting in Him.

    Chris

  8. Hi Sandy and Stef,

    Stef – we’ve met but I’m sure you don’t remember me. Sandy – we know each other through Children’s. Just want to let you know that I’m thinking of you and praying for you. I’m praying specifically that the pain will subside and you will feel relieved.

    “God is my refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble”

  9. Thank you for keeping us posted Sandi, Im sure it’s not easy to sit and write this about someone you love. You are truely a wonderful wife to Stefan.

    I pray always without ceasing for your family!!!!

  10. We prayed all last night and continue to pray for strength for the both of you!

  11. My prayer is for your pain to subside and both of you to feel God’s presence with you through all of this!

  12. Sandi & Stef
    I am thinking of you both and praying that God will ease your pain.
    Love you both!

  13. Praying for you,

    Mary Lynn Hartman

  14. Stef & Sandi
    My thoughts and prayers are with you both. The hearts and prayers of my moms church in Oregon and my family in Nebraska are also with you during this trying time. If I could I’d give you all of my strength, energy, courage, and a ray of sunshine. Love Laurie

  15. Stef and Sandi – Me and my family pray for you day and night!

  16. We continue to pray for you and trust GOD continues to provide the strength & the perspective needed to endure this next hurdle! GOD loves you guys as do we! Praying for the pain to subside and trusting GOD to deliver you through this cancer!

    REFUSE TO LOSE!

    Butch & Dawn Davis

  17. Probably neither of you know me, but I graduated from Cedarville in 1990 & 91. I just recently found out about what’s been going on thru a Facebook page. Anyway, I’m adding Stef to our church prayer list…so many more prayers will go up for him.
    -Melissa Bethel

  18. YOU ARE BOTH IN MY PRAYERS. LOVE AND HUGS TO YOU BOTH! CHRIS

  19. As always, we continue to pray for you and the family every day and night. Stay strong in Him and He will see you through this. Love Missi

  20. South Py Community Church is praying! Keep up the fight guys! We love you!

  21. I am sorry to hear about the long long day and the pain. Am thinking of you both everyday; hoping for better.

  22. Hey Stef-

    We are looking forward to that great day when you can stand with Tyler and yell out “Cancer–Been There, Done That, And Kicked It’s Butt!!”

    tyleralfriend.blogspot.com

  23. Stef and Sandi,
    You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers everyday. You are both such strong individuals, but more importantly you are strong for each other. Hope the days ahead get brighter.

  24. Stef and Sandi,
    Hopefully today is a better day! You are in our prayers.
    Colleen

  25. Stef and Family: Praying for you day and night. Refuse to lose!!!
    Love, Paula

Leave a Reply

