Just hangin’ at The James…

Well, still just hanging here at The James.  Literally, just hanging around.  I am just killing time until my next procedure which is at 7am Monday.  To that end, my last meal was lunch on Wednesday.  I emptied that out of my body on Wednesday night.  I HOPE to be on a liquid diet as soon as possible on Monday night and on solid food again by Wednesday.  So to say that I am starving right now, is an understatement.

The procedure that I will undergo on Monday morning is having a PEG tube inserted into my stomach.  A good explanation of a PEG tube is here on Wikipedia.  However, I will not be using this tube for feedings.  I will be using it as a “venting” tube.  Wikipedia states, “A gastrostomy may also be placed to decompress the stomach contents in a patient with a malignant bowel obstruction. This is referred to as a “venting PEG” and is placed to prevent and manage nausea and vomiting.”  I do not have a malignant bowel obstruction, but there is an issue with my stomach and GI system where I need to have the stomach vented from time to time to relieve pressure that has been building up and causing pain.  When pressure builds up, I will be able to uncap this tube and relieve the pressure in my stomach.  Pain will be decrease and hopefully these stupid hiccups will go away as well!!

I will probably be at The James until Wednesday at the earliest.  Maybe until Thursday or Friday.  They want to see me eating and tolerating food well and also to make sure I understand how to use and care for this PEG tube.

So, that is it for now.  Sandi or I will update you on Monday afternoon sometime as to how the procedure went.

Also, as events have dictated, my series on the Family is going to be postponed for a few more days, but I promise you, it is coming.

REFUSING TO LOSE!!

10 Responses

  1. Praying for you brother…if you need a laugh just look at my new picture on facebook..

  2. Praying the procedure will: #1 – be totally successful #2 – no complications or infection #3 – provide you with all kinds of relief.

  3. Get alot of reading material and watch the world series………….”GO PHILLIES”!!!!

    Praying for you always,

    REFUSE TO LOOSE!!!!

  4. Sorry about you being back in the hospital Stef. Hang in there! Hopefully the PEG tube will help. God Bless. You guys are in my thoughts and prayers!

  5. I spoke with a patient this week that had a venting PEG and it really helped her. I’m thinking good thoughts for you that this procedure will help you. Hang in there! Be good to those nurses 🙂 Cathy

  6. So glad that there’s is potential relief just around the corner! We’re continuing to pray for you! In the meantime,avoid the Food Network, drooling is never pretty! 🙂
    Sue

  7. Continuing to pray for you. Thanks for the visit today, it was great to see you & Sandi.

  8. Stef
    I just wanted you to know I was thinking about you. Praying for you and yours…
    Amy

  9. Stef, I hope you are doing well. We are with you all the way.

  10. Stef,
    Tony & I are sending prayers and good wishes your way — We think of you so often and hope that you are home and feeling better soon!

    Lots of love is being sent your way!

    Dina & Tony

Leave a Reply

