Perseverance – Wrap Up

Well, I think it is time to wrap up our series on perseverance.  As I noted in the introduction, perseverance is a way of life for me now.  These past three months have been rather difficult for me as surgery recovery has not been great.  Even to this day, I still have pain and discomfort on a daily basis, but I must continue to persevere and not let this get the best of me.

Perseverance and failure cannot coexist. Failure happens when you quit. When all is said and done, perseverance, is the ultimate success insurance. Nothing can take its place.  That is why I persevere everyday.  Failure is not an option for me.  Victory over this disease will be mine, as long as I continue to persevere.

This journey with cancer has opened my eyes and my heart to many things.  I have learned what I am made of and how strong (and weak) I am.  Everyday is a battle.  Everyday is a blessing.  Everyday I persevere.  Everyday, I get one step closer to victory.

Let me leave you with a few more quotes:

I think a hero is an ordinary individual who finds strength to persevere and endure in spite of overwhelming obstacles. Christopher Reeve

Never, never, never, never give up.  Winston Churchill

The difference between perseverance and obstinacy is that one often comes from a strong will, and the other from a strong won’t.  Henry Ward Beecher

We are made to persist. That’s how we find out who we are. Tobias Wolff

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn.  Harriet Beecher Stowe

It’s a little like wrestling a gorilla. You don’t quit when you’re tired, you quit when the gorilla is tired.  Robert Strauss

I hope that you have gained something from this series of posts.  It was on my heart and just wanted to share my two cents worth of thoughts on the topic and what it means to me.

6 Responses

  1. Romans 8:34-35, 37
    34 “. . . Christ Jesus died for us and was raised to life for us, and he is sitting in the place of honor at God’s right hand, pleading for us.

    35 Can anything ever separate us from Christ’s love? Does it mean he no longer loves us if we have trouble or calamity, or are persecuted, or hungry, or destitute, or in danger, or threatened with death?

    37 No, despite all these things, overwhelming victory is ours through Christ, who loved us.”
    I can relate to where you’re coming from. Refuse to Lose!
    ~Carmen

  2. Loved the one about the gorilla!

  3. Great Stuff Stef!

  4. Wonderfully put Stef! You have a lot of people in your corner. God Bless you guys!

    Qiana

  5. Thanks again for sharing your heart! Glad to hear you are doing better:)

  6. And another one from the great Jimmy V.

    Cancer can take away all my physical ability. It cannot touch my mind; it cannot touch my heart; and it cannot touch my soul. And those three things are going to carry on forever.

Leave a Reply

