Perseverance – Part II

Perseverance and Patience

Who thinks that our time on earth is ours?  I don’t think so.  Every day is a gift and God is calling the shots.  Let’s face it.  At one time or another, we have all thought that we were/are invincible.  I know I did.  Up until about a year ago.  My life was good and I was rolling.  God throws curve balls into our lives.  When He does, he does not always tell us why.  This is where patience fits in.

My personality is one that likes to have things under control.  If things are not under control, then I like things to be over quickly.  Enter cancer.  Uh, let’s take a quick inventory.  I am not in control of this, for sure.  I am also thinking that this will not be over quickly.  I am about 14 months into my battle and we are not near done.  This could be years and possibly a lifetime battle.  I guess I should have not have expected this to be a short trip.  Most cancer journeys are not.  Patience.  Not my forte.  Still learning and learning and learning.

God’s timing is perfect and most of the time, it is not on our timeline.  God will do His will when He wants to.  He will let us know of why things happen when He wants to.  Fourteen months into my journey and I still do not know why.  Patience.  Not me.  Still learning.  It would be really nice to know why I have to go through this. 

I have friends looking for a job, for months.  I have friends in this blogsphere who are battling cancer.  There are people waiting to sell homes (good luck in this market).  Patience.  Perseverance.  They go hand in hand.  I don’t think you can even begin to persevere unless you have patience. 

I am waiting to be cured, patiently, while I persevere. 

Psalm 37:7a  Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for Him.

Romans 8:25  But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.

Romans 12:12  Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer

James 1:3,4   3because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.  4Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

James 5:10, 11  10Brothers, as an example of patience in the face of suffering, take the prophets who spoke in the name of the Lord.  11As you know, we consider blessed those who have persevered. You have heard of Job’s perseverance and have seen what the Lord finally brought about. The Lord is full of compassion and mercy.

5 Responses

  1. Thanks for the post Stef.

    Here’s a song (hymn) to encourage you today:

    http://www.lizas-eyeview.com/2008/09/o-love-that-will-not-let-me-go.html

    Have a nice day today 🙂

    Liza

  2. Hey Stef-

    Patience is a hard lesson. Waiting sucks. It is part of the package, but I hate it.

    What I can say is that, as you have been patiently waiting for your cure, you have used your time to be a wonderful inspiration to me, my son, and many others waiting for theirs. Like Kipling said, while waiting you have still shown the ability to fill each unforgiving minute with 60 seconds of distance run.

    We greatly appreciate what you have done, and look forward to celebrating your cure. Celebrating very, very soon.

    Kyle Alfriend
    tyleralfriend.blogspot.com

  3. Stef,

    First, let me say how much I enjoy reading your blog. I know you are on a very difficult journey and that you have good days and bad. Thank you for sharing your experiences and feelings with all of us, despite all that you are going through.

    My dad was diagnosed with stage IV cancer in May, exactly one month after I gave birth to my daughter. The cancer is in his lungs, liver, stomach and brain. It has been a very rough road. On top of that, he also suffered a stroke when undergoing a Gamma Knife procedure to zap the brain tumors. He is currently undergoing chemo every other week with a PET scan scheduled for Oct. to see how the tumors are reacting. He will decide then if he wants to continue treatments.

    I appreciate your recent posts about perseverance. I’ve shared them with my mom so she can print them and read them to my dad. You see, my dad’s vision has been affected, as well as his reasoning skills mainly due to the brain tumors. He can no longer work, drive, or read.

    It has helped my dad to hear about someone who is going through a similar situation as his. He’s been dealing with depression the last several weeks on top of the physical ills from the chemo. During the day, he sits at home while my mom works. (She carries their health insurance and must work.) So, he’s left alone to think…about his cancer…about “why me?”…about dying. It’s made everything that much harder for him.

    I want you to know how your words about perseverance have been helpful for my mom, my dad and me. Thank you for sharing. It’s been more helpful than you know.

    Keep up the battle, and refuse to lose!
    Lainie

  4. Lainie, Thanks for sharing your Dad’s journey. I will begin to pray for him daily. I am glad that I have been able to help in some small way.

  5. Dear Stef,

    PG shared this post with the group at Prayer Meeting at GBC Wednesday night, and we prayed for you.

    M. L. Hartman

Leave a Reply

