Perseverance – Introduction…

Not sure why this has been tugging at me for a few days now, but I feel compelled to share my thoughts on persevering.  Let’s face it, persevering is a way of life for me now.  So what is perseverance?  Here are a few tidbits to get our heads around this.

  • Perseverance is the hard work you do after you get tired of doing the hard work you already did. ~Newt Gingrich

 

  • When the world says, “Give up,” Hope whispers, “Try it one more time.”
    ~Author Unknown

 

  • There is no telling how many miles you will have to run while chasing a dream. ~Author Unknown

 

  • I may not be there yet, but I’m closer than I was yesterday. ~Author Unknown

 

  • Our greatest glory is not in never failing, but in rising up every time we fail. ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

  • Getting knocked down seven times and getting up eight.

 

  • Perseverance is commitment to hard work, patience and endurance.

 

  • Perseverance is being able to bear difficulties calmly and without complaint.

 Let me tell you a story about Sandi and me.  It was 1998 and one morning, after a night of very terrible storms, we woke up to five feet of water in the lower level of our bi-level house. We lost everything on that level, plus both of our cars, that were completely submerged.  That was our first test.  We started the process of rebuilding our home.  A few months after the flood, we found out that we were expecting our first child.  Very exciting, but very nerve wracking for me.  About six months after that, I decided to change jobs, a stressor in itself.  Then we decided to buy a new home.  Yep, that’s easy.  NOT.  Oh, by the way, this all happened while I was getting my MBA.  Yep, learning about perseverance the hard way.  Going back to the thoughts on giving up, bearing difficulties, etc.

 

Well, we thought that we had been through enough, but God wasn’t finished with us yet.  Nine years go by and life was good.  Family was growing, job was good, and church was fantastic.  Then July 23, 2007 comes around.  My diagnosis date.  Stage IV colon cancer at the age of 37.  Not just colon cancer, but the worst type that you could get.  Great just what I needed in my life.  How would this affect my family?  What is my true prognosis?  How would my golf game turn out? 

 

It has been a little over a year now.  Everyday is a battle.  Everyday, I thank God for one more day.  Everyday I persevere.  Over the next week or so, I will be blogging on various aspects of this topic.  I hope you enjoy it.

7 Responses

  1. You do not know how God has used you in my life today! My devotion this morning was on this very topic. Do you think God is trying to tell me something? Thanks for sharing what God laid on your heart he is truly using you Stef in the lives of your friends and family. God bless you- Jen

  2. Hey, Jen. You gotta love it when God is at work!!

  3. “We rejoice in the hope of the glory of God. Not only so, be we rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope” Romans5:2-4

    Have you heard the song by Addsion Road called “Hope Now”? It describes your storm (the former and the latter) analogy perfectly. Download it if you possibly can.
    Carmen Jobe (Janet Fleming’s friend; my husband is battling stage 4 colon also)

  4. Stef, I follow your blog quite often. Today I felt compelled to comment. Persevering is hard work, it requires both mental and physical stamina. Often we are lacking in one of these, or both. Every person experiences challenges with his/her everyday lives. Some of these challenges are harder than others, but we all have them. It’s easy to give up, it’s easy to throw in the towel. It’s hard to keep going and persevere. You sometimes feel like you are heading straight up hill. Or like my mom says, “heading up creek with no paddle.” But it’s during these times that we truly experience the love of God. When we are broken and down, and feel like we can’t take more one step, He’s there to carry us. When we are mentally fatigued and can’t make a decision, God allows others to come into our lives and help us. We need to teach our kids that life isn’t always easy, and we shouldn’t ever take the easy way out. What we do teach them is that no matter what happens, good or bad, God is there with us. We give Him our worries, we give Him our cares, so that he can share that burden with us. I don’t know about others, but this makes me feel so relieved! You keep persevering Stef, your battle is not over. God will take care of you and yours.

  5. Carmen – I will have to check out the song, I have not heard it. Thansk for that.

    Kristy – great comment, thank you. I cannot get through this with out God. He has heard both good and bad from me, but He is getting me through. You are correct, persevering is hard work, but we are made better through it.

  6. Hey Stef–

    Here are some of my favorites…

    There is only one path to greatness and it runs through hell
    –Miles levin

    I know God will not give me more than I can handle. I just wish he didn’t trust me so much.
    –Mother Teresa

    When you get to the end of your rope, tie a knot and hang on.”
    –Teddy Roosevelt

    Most of the important things in the world have been accomplished by people who have kept on trying when there seemed to be no hope at all
    –Dale Carnegie

    You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the eye…the danger lies in refusing to face the fear, not in daring to comes to grips with it…you must make yourself succeed every time. You must do the thing you think you can not do.
    –Eleanor Roosevelt

    If you are going through hell, keep moving.
    –Winston Churchill

    If Columbus had turned back, no one would have blamed him. Of course, no one would have remembered him either.

    I am doing fine because I refuse to do otherwise. That much is mine. Attempts to extinguish my fire thus far have only intensified it. With each crashing wave, I plant my feet deeper in the sand and become more resolute. If my health declines, some may say I “lost” my battle with cancer; but as for me, I can’t think of too many ways in which I could have been more victorious. If it comes to it, I’ll go down in magnificent flames purely for the principle glory of the thing. But hopefully it won’t come to it.
    –Miles Levin

    I have heard there are troubles of more than one kind.
    Some come from ahead and some come from behind.
    But I’ve bought a big bat.  I’m all ready you see.
    Now my troubles are going to have troubles with me!
    –Dr Suess

  7. Stef ~ Thank you for that. I truly needed to hear what you wrote today. God is truly working through you. I’m with you…..”I REFUSE TO LOSE”

    Brandy

Leave a Reply

