Surgeon Appointment Update…

Well, this drawing to the left is an artist’s rendering of me.  It was drawn early this afternoon and this is really what I look like, really.

Here is where this is stemming from.  I saw the surgeon this morning.  No sooner did he get into the room and starts talking about how I looked.  Let’s face it, I am tall, dark and handsome.  That goes without saying.  However, I am now tall, dark, handsome, and severely underweight.  I am 6 foot 4 inches tall and am now tipping the scales at 138 pounds.  Yep, you read that correctly, the big 138!!  I have not weighed this much since junior high school.  This is just nuts. 

Anyway, my surgeon is giving me a few days to try to get myself back on track.  If I don’t, then I will need to be put on TPN.  You can read about what TPN is here.  I hope I can get myself back on track, as I really don’t want a PICC line put in and have to be connected to a bag all night long. 

The infection in my incision in healing nicely.  Pain is really not a big issue anymore.  Eating is the issue right now.  So, that’s about it for now.  Give you all another update on Monday as I visit with my oncologist and then my family doctor.

7 Responses

  1. Stef,

    The extremes God takes some people to frustrates me. There is you, who has no appetite and desperately needs to eat, and then there are people that I watched a TV show about the other night who are obese and who can’t stop eating. They desperately need to quit eating so much in order to survive.

    I guess there are many things like this in life. Women have abortions all the time while there are couples dying to have a baby. I don’t know, why does God push people to such extremes? I guess the end result is the same. He is trying to get us to lean on Him. I know that you are doing that. I will pray that food will bring you some enjoyment again and you can get some weight back on soon.

    Amy

  2. Oh good, that is exactly how I remember you from school, you havent changed a bit!!! The tall and dark I totally remember but the handsome part, I will have to pull out the old year books and refresh my memory alittle bit!!!

  3. Avacadoes!! They have a ton of good fat in them, they are basic and healthy! So eat up the guacamole!! Multigrain chips( Garden of Eatin’ brand – yummy) go very well with them! One more thing..
    Eat and eat some more… don’t forget the raw fruits and veggies. Their enzymes are VERY important in processing all that food you must be eating now!! It gives your liver a little help! Yogurt and almonds are great too! I just HAD to say it!! You know me!! I know you are doing all you can. Never lose sight of God’s ultimate plan in all of this. Your spirit and smile will keep you going!!
    Always praying!!

    Sharyn

  4. I stumbled across your blog and wanted to add a prayer.

    Lord, I lift up Stef to you. Thank you for the start of his second year. Please add to the years appointed to him. I ask you Lord to give him victory over this physical battle he is facing. I pray for your touch Jesus on him. We all need your touch Lord and I pray for that He would experience your touch in a powerful way. May your light shine brightly in his life and give glory to you.
    In the Mighty Name of Jesus we pray,
    Amen

  5. Dear Stef,
    My prayers are with you, and I wish you the best in over coming this battle. I do want to share the Dry Pro PICC Line Protector with you. It improves the quality of life for people with a PICC Line. You can actually bath, swim, shower, even go in the ocean if you like. It is such a great product. Please check it out when you get a moment. I wish you the best and my prayers are with you.
    Warm Regards,
    Beri G

  6. One word my friend….Wendalls! We’ll hit that sometime after your birthday and get fat and happy on oversized Buffalo Chicken. It seems to me we were going to split a Birthday Cake too. Hmmm where should we go? Cheesecake factory could be the order of the day for that one.

  7. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

