One Year…

Well, today marks the one year anniversary of my diagnosis of stage IV colon cancer.  What a year it has been.  About 20 chemo treatments, two surgeries, countless blood draws, numerous doctor appointments, too many CT scans (I am surprised that I am not glowing). 

Not sure how you mark an occassion like this.  A good friend of mine told me that it is another day.  It will have 24 hours in it and it will pass into the next day.  He is right, it is just another day.  However, it is a significant day in my life as well.  I don’t want to celebrate the fact that I have cancer, but it is something that I do have and it, unfortunately, is part of my life at this time.

It has been a journey for sure.  I have had opportunities that would not have otherwise be afforded to me because of this disease.  The support that we have been surrounded with is unbelievable.  I have really been taken back at some of the things people have done for us, we feel so undeserving, and all we can say is thank you.

So, off we go, heading into year two.  Our prayer continues to be complete healing.  Maybe this will be our year!!

9 Responses

  1. I pray this IS THE year – for you and Tyler, my Mom and the many friends we have made on this amazing journey, to be healed, and most of all for there to be a cure found soon so that no one else has to enter this world of cancer.
    I really enjoyed your story of the fire alarm. Brings back some memories!
    Hope you have a GREAT day – however you choose to acknowledge the one year mark – make it a FUN one!!!! REFUSE TO LOSE!!!

  2. Stef, we’re still praying for you and your family at our house.

  3. Amen!! We’re praying with you!!!

  4. The Conrad family continues to pray for you Stef. Refuse to Lose!

  5. YES SIR>..I am agreeing in prayer my friend. This year!!

  6. We are all praying for you and want to stop by again. Here’s to another year and many more!

  7. Here’s to one year of your LIFE, not to cancer!!!!!!

    I am praying for your needs!!! All of them!

  8. Hey Stef, We have been praying for you and your family every night!!! I pray that this is your year!! We will keep up the prayers.

  9. Keep the FAITH! We are praying for a cure!!!

Leave a Reply

