Run for Stef…

Ok, this is a hard one to post. Know that this is not a self serving post, but one that a good friend of mine has asked me to do. My buddy, Russ, who I have coached soccer with for a number of years, is a solid friend! He is a sprinter by nature and running a 1/2 marathon is going to push Russ to some limits, but he is game. Here is what Russ is doing for us:

Taking care of the Bucket List

For those of you who have read this blog regularly, you’ll know in January, Stef posted a Bucket List. #3 on that list was to go to Fenway. To help get him there, I’m running a 1/2 marathon on April 12th as a fund-raiser and would love it if you would contribute toward that goal. I’ve never run a 1/2 marathon before, but I also couldn’t just sit close by and do nothing. We’re also working with the Red Sox to see what they can do for tickets and area hotels for his stay.

So please, I will do the work – I’ll run, contact the Red Sox, do all the correspondence, collect and distribute the funds to him, and all the other little things if you’ll but simply donate.

You can track my running progress at : http://runforstef.livejournal.com/

If you’d like to contribute, please contact me at busket_13@yahoo.com

Thank you and pledge from the heart,
Russ Beitzel

I could not thank Russ enough for what he is doing. I was surprised and got a little emotional on this one. We have had so much support through this and receiving is still a lesson we are learning. Thanks, Russ.

7 Responses

  1. Isn’t it great to have friends? I know it might be hard to receive that help, but to help someone is also a selfish deed in some ways. It makes you feel SO good to do something for someone. Especially when you care about that person and you can’t “fix” the real problems in their life. What a great thing for Russ to do, and a healthy thing for his body:) Our family is certainly pledging our faith, care, and money to you guys. Even if you are going to see that team at Fenway Park (GO REDS)!! The boys, Tim and I are going to see the Red Sox play the Reds at the Great American Ballpark this summer!! Can’t wait to hear all about your trip!!

  2. Hey Stef,

    One thing I learned while helping my wife fight cancer is that people will give and give and give. The hardest part is asking, after that, the flood gates open.

    Keep up the fight!

  3. You’ve got people running all over for you mister! This is such a cool thing! Fenway has the green monster right? So cool, I’m so excited for you and I’ll definitely be pledging. Take lots of pics!

    Stay strong!

  4. Stef, I can’t tell you how glad Russ is to do this for you and your family. πŸ™‚ And its fun for me to see him stretch himself as an athlete (something I thought was near impossible). I hope you are having a great day today! πŸ˜‰ It was really good to see you. You are a great friend. πŸ™‚

  5. Go Russ go! I’d running a 5K on April 12th, I’d be doing some praying while I run – for Stef, my pastor Kit, Heather, etc.

    I’d also be thinking of you when I run (you’re running longer πŸ™‚ – that you’d have the stamina and will run like a wind :0 and that funds will be raised for Stef through you. You’re a great bro.

    Liza

    P.S. You don’t really know me. I visit Stef’s blog regularly to pray for him, and I happen to read this post πŸ™‚

  6. GOOOO RUSS! That is just too cool! Hope you raise all that you need, and good luck in the marathon!

    Uncle Stef, praying for you always! Love you and miss you guys tons! All the Michigan Matsons say hello!

    Love,
    Kels

  7. […] to raise some funds for the Tarapchak boys to get to Fenway Park to see a Red Sox game. His post is here. Russ was wildly successful in getting sponsors and thanks to Russ, we will not only get to Boston, […]

Leave a Reply

