Rough week…

sickofit.jpgLet me start by saying, I don’t mean to complain. I am not feeling sorry for myself, but I am just sick of this cancer thing!!

This was a rougher week than I had expected. I am about half way through treatments right now. Six down, six to go! However, I thought I knew what to expect when my chemo weeks came around. This one caught me sideways.

The night of chemo was about the same. The second day was a little harder than normal (whatever normal is anymore!). Much time in bed that day with nausea and fatigue. Day three, I am usually ready to go back to work for at least half of the day. Not this time. Day three was rough. Again, much time in bed and in my big, comfy chair, under my favorite blanket. Too fatigued to do anything at all. So, I missed one more day of work than I usually due, and that gets to me. The great thing is, that my bosses at work are VERY understanding and supportive. They have been since hour one of this journey. I still hate missing work, though. It is therapy at times and keeps my mind on things other than cancer.

The bright light for this week was Tyler Alfriend. My buddy was able to go home for a few days and enjoy being somewhat of a normal teenager for awhile (again, whatever your definition of normal is). He enjoyed some friends over, had some wings, and played x-box. Great to hear the good news, Tyler. Will visit you when you are back in for chemo next week!

Anyway, not complaining, as many people are going through worse things than I am, but I am still SICK OF IT!! My next big event is my CT coming up this Thursday, March 6th. We are praying for the cancer to be gone!!! Refusing to Lose!!

11 Responses

  1. Sorry to hear you had such a rough week Stef. I am not looking forward to my wife being in the same condition you are. My wife starts chemo on Wednesday, 4 (adriamycin+cytoxan) cycles every other week and then 12 (Taxol+Herceptin) every week. The cancer is estrogen negative so she will not be taking drugs for reoccurrence. They have yet to classify a stage, we are thinking somewhere between 3 and 4. Will find out if it has spread other than the lymph nodes and breast area on Monday with the Catscan. I really hope you have a better week next week and we are praying for you and your family.

  2. You guys are all so amazing how you handle all you are going through! I know you must be so over the “cancer thing”! Focus on the cancer-free future ahead of you and don’t look back! I will be praying for a cancer-free scan next week! Thanks so much for watching out for Tyler and his family.

    Praying for your cure,
    Debbie Gray
    (Tyler’s cousin)

  3. Hang in there Stef! It has to be quite frustrating at times, to say the least. God is molding and shaping you as His child through it all. Prayers continue to ascend on your behalf.

  4. Dude! Thinking about you a lot lately. Praying hard for you. Hearing about bad weeks is not good, but keep having the courage to share. You are on the clock for Hacker’s, no excuses this year!

    Todd

  5. You know we love you and will be praying for your scan on Thursday that there will be nothing there!!! Hope you have a better week- Jen

  6. Stef,
    If was so great to visit with you today! Thanks, also, for stopping in to see Kylee. God love you, and we are praying for you — You are such a kind and gentle soul — Children’s is lucky to have you working here!!

  7. Hey cuz, your still in my prayers fingers are crossed for good news Thursday

  8. Hey Stef-

    Sorry to hear about this round. Cancer does suck. We are praying for you.

    Tyler is home and doing strong. He is back in Wedesday for round 5.

    There is no way I can begin to understand what you guys go through. But i do keep you in my thoughts and prayers. Thank you for all your support of Ty.

    REFUSE TO LOSE!
    FIGHT TO WIN!

    Kyle
    tyleralfriend.blogspot.com

  9. Kyle, thanks for stopping by. I am glad that we have had the opportunity to connect. People like Tyler and Kylee keep me fighting. They are such a blessing to me!!
    Continuing the FIGHT!!!!

  10. Yeah – Refuse To Lose! I’m rooting (and praying) for you.

  11. Stef
    Sue and I are praying for you. You are so amazing to us with your postitive attitude. I seriously don’t know just how I would be in your situation. However you are a blessing to all of us. Will be praying everyday for God’s blessings on you on thursday. God knows whats best for you and my prayer for sure will be that he will just amazing and dazzle the Dr’s and they will say Stef my man its all gone. Praise the Lord! WE all know that he can deliver you from this.

Leave a Reply

