Yes, I am in the over 30 crowd…

This is too funny not to share. Those who are in the over 30 crowd and have kids will really appreciate this.

When I was a kid, adults used to bore me to tears with their tedious diatribes about how hard things were when they were growing up; what with walking twenty-five miles to school ever y morning … uphill BOTH ways

yada, yada, yada …

And I remember promising myself that when I grew up, there was no way I was going to lay a bunch of crap like that on kids about how hard I had it and how easy they’ve got it!
But now that… I’m over the ripe old age of thirty+, I can’t help but look around and notice the youth of today.

You’ve got it so easy! I mean, compared to my childhood, you live in a dog gone Utopia!
And I hate to say it but you kids today you don’t know how good you’ve got it!

I mean, when I was a kid we didn’t have The Internet . If we wanted to know something,
we had to go to the library and look it up ourselves, in the card catalog!!
There was no email!! We had to actually write somebody a letter with a pen!
Then you had to walk all the way across the street and put it in the mailbox and it would take like a week to
get there!

There were no MP3’s or Napsters! You wanted to steal music, you had to hitchhike to the record store
and shoplift it yourself! Or you had to wait around all day to tape it off the radio and the DJ’d usually talk over the
beginning and mess it all up!

We didn’t have fancy stuff like Call Waiting! If you were on the phone and somebody else called they got
a busy signal, that’s it!
And we didn’t have fancy Caller ID Boxes either! When the phone rang, you
had no idea who it was! It could be your school, your mom, your boss, your bookie, your drug dealer, a collections agent, you
just didn’t know!!! You had to pick it up and take your chances, mister!

We didn’t have any fancy Sony Playstation video games with high-resolution 3-D graphics! We had the Atari 2600! With games
like ‘Space Invaders’ and ‘asteroids’. Your guy was a little square! You actually had to use your imagination!! And there were no multiple levels or
screens, it was just one screen forever! And you could never win. The game just kept getting harder and harder and faster and faster until you died! Just like LIFE!

When you went to the movie theater there no such thing as stadium seating! All the seats were the same height! If a tall guy
or some old broad with a hat sat in front of you and you couldn’t see, you were just screwed!

Sure, we had cable television, but back then that was only like 15 channels and there was no on screen menu and no remote control! You had to use a
little book called a TV Guide to find out what was on! You were screwed when it came to channel surfing! You had to get off your behind and walk over to the TV to change the
channel and there was no Cartoon Network either! You could only get cartoons on Saturday Morning. Do you hear what I’m saying!?! We had to wait ALL WEEK for cartoons, you spoiled
little brats!

And we didn’t have microwaves, if we wanted to heat something up we had to use the stove or go build a frigging fire .. imagine that! If we wanted
popcorn, we had to use that stupid Jiffy Pop thing and shake it over the stove forever like an idiot.

That’s exactly what I’m talking about! You kids today have got it too easy. You’re spoiled. You guys wouldn’t have lasted five minutes back in 1980!

Regards,
The over 30 Crowd

13 Responses

  1. Amen Stef! My kiddo’s definately wouldn’t have lasted 5 minutes. Especially without the DVD in the van! They think everyone has a tv built into their car! Too funny 🙂 Made my day!

  2. Stef, I love it! I am going to read this to Tyler tonight and re-read it to him over and over. The next time I hear him say that “he’s bored” and has nothing to do, although he has Wii and Xbox and PSP, gameboy, and every game that goes along with those units, I will print this out and make him read it to me until he has it totally memorized!!! Although technology has come along way, believe it or not, I miss the 80’s!! I would not trade my life or go back to it but it’s fun to read things like this via email. I miss all my friends, good thing we have memories!!! Thanks for this, it’s great!!! Have a great day, praying for you during your week of chemo!!

  3. So funny!! Yesterday Eric said, “our kids are going to think that doors just automatically open.” (we were in the van) Nothing makes me madder than a hornet to hear “I’m bored.” I learned as a kid living on a farm never to say that or they put you to work. I never had any electronic games, we had 4 TV channels – ABC, CBS, NBC which was fuzzy if the rabbit years were pointed wrong or the aluminum foil was falling off, and FOX which played COPS, Married With Children, some political show, and This Old House all the time. For fun I played in the hay loft, or the tobacco barn, that was my swing set. The dirt under the tree trunk next to the shop (that is where all the farm equipment stayed) was where I played hot wheels with rocks as houses. Every afternoon after school I got off the bus at my grandparents house, got my horse saddled and rode around the farm. I loved every minute and wouldn’t change a thing. Now that I’m just a few years past 30 it makes me appreciate all that I had as a kid. Thanks for making my day to help me remember a great childhood.

  4. Hi Stef…I am a friend of Todd & Marlo Roberts and I have been praying for you along your journey. I just want you to know how uplifting you are and what an awsome example of just how great God is! This entry just described my childhood too…I still prefer the Atari over anything else our kids have today. I like it simple, up..down..left..or right!! My 5 year old can menuver (sp??) the great games of today where you have to go forward while you hold down the A button and at the same time hit the X button to jump over something. I don’t have that much coordination in my whole body much less in just my hands!!!! Anyway, I hope your week goes well and thanks for the flashback!!

  5. Quite possibly the best post ever…in the history of the internet 🙂 Okay, maybe that was over the top, but this post needs to be printed and framed. It’s an “instant classic”.

    Dewey Decimal would be proud…(Do-we have????)

  6. Denise, thanks for stopping by! Tell Todd and Marlo I said Hi!!

    Aaron, I am calling you out again on the smiley!! Glad you enjoyed it. I expect to see a copy on the wall of your office the next time I am over!!!

  7. Oh my gosh- I needed that belly laugh! Hope you are feeling well today- thanks for reminding us of how we suffered growning up! Jen

  8. I LOVE this post. I will be reading it to our kids tonite, and they will think we are both crazy!!! They think that I am so “lame” cause I like Pac-Man games better than any x-box game ever!! This does make me feel really old, but more than that, it makes me really sad for the kids. They are missing so many fun things with a simpler life. Text messaging is one of my pet peeves, although I have to admit that I am learning to do it. However, my kids would be far better off if they stopped texting and improved their verbal communication skills. Thanks for making me smile today Stef! I am praying that you are feeling strong after yesterday. Keep on fighting and winning!!!

  9. And typewriters were used before computers were invented and YES bicycles were invented when I was a kid. 🙂

  10. GREAT POST!
    Another good laugh for the morning to start the day off well. 🙂
    Yep , I have to agree with Aaron this is an instant classic! And here’s another even bigger smiley for Stef today. 😀

    And from the over 40 crowd I have to pitch in that we had it even harder back in the 1970’s! I mean, when the needle broke on the record player late at night you were just plain out of luck. Until the good old 8 track tapes came out, then we were really rocking for sure, if you were lucky enough to have one.

    And cable? ever try to get good reception with an antennae???
    Ha, you young pups had it sooo easy in comparison! 😉

    Blessings to you Stef, I still think of and pray for you often!!!

    Susan

  11. Atari’s the best!

  12. Ok I too found it funny; however, I have to add to this. Today’s youth think everything that they have today was something they came up with. For instance break dancing. Ummm… That’s back? I tried hard to pretend I never did that. Rolling up your pant legs or wearing jelly bracelets. Come on this was old school. OMG ya that’s what said. I can remember writing my little acronyms on a paper to a friend. And I was some what of a computer geek back then too. So late 80s I was IMing and texting in l33t speak. We just didn’t say them out load person to person, as if were proper grammar. A lot of the music I hear now a days seem very familiar to the songs I grew up with. Oh ya that’s because they are using the same songs and re mixing or singing them and calling them their own. The other day I herd a song with some of New Edition lyrics on it (“Mr. Telephone Man”). Here’s one for you “Emo”., what’s the difference between this group and “Goth” or New Age wanabes listening to Depeche Mode. Where all black and complaining how their lives are all bad and they want to kill themselves. Hmmm yeah that’s new. Ok what else is new, not? They assume because it’s what they have in front of them right now, it’s new and they came up with it. There are a number of other little things that I was trying to explain to my kids that this next generation don’t really have an original thought or clam on trends. I tried looking up a list of trends that are new that are labeled to this new generation and even some of the news media has forgotten who came up with what, granting the youth of today the title to fame on creativity.

  13. This is great! Thanks for the idea of a blog as well, it is good therapy. jonathan bush

Leave a Reply

