Where did my toes go???

toes.jpgOK, class, let’s take out our vocabulary books for today’s new word. Some of you may already know it, but bear with me, as some do not. Today’ s word is neuropathy. Let’s break this one down. Neuro – meaning nerve. Pathy-meaning disease. Great, nerve disease. I was happy with definition as I thought it was going to be neuro – meaning brain and apathy – meaning absence of interest or concern for certain aspects of emotional, social, or physical life. Great, lazy brain disease. I will take the nerve perspective on this one!

Well, I actually do not have nerve disease. Neuropathy is a side affect of some of the drugs I am on. My neuropathy set in about six weeks ago, but was not a big deal. It can set in with the hands and feet. Mine set in with my feet. The best way to describe it is like the tingly feeling you get when your foot has fallen asleep and is waking back up. Multiply that feeling by 20 and that is what I am now living with on a constant basis. It seems to be setting in stronger over the last week. This morning, I couldn’t “find” my toes. Getting up and walking was extra fun today as toes are necessary for balance. My first few steps were interesting. When I was putting on my socks, I could not feel the sock going over my toes. Weird stuff. Every step causes the tingly feeling to make itself known. Just sitting here, I have not idea if I have toes or not today.

Anyway, thought I would share this interesting tidbit with you. My oncologist is watching out for me and will change chemo drug doses if necessary. If you do happen to find my toes wondering some where, I would appreciate their swift return, as I miss them!

6 Responses

  1. Still praying… and wondering if it actually affects the circulation in your toes or just what you feel? Curious…

  2. Hi Stef,

    You don’t know us but I wanted you to know we’ve been following your journey on your blog. We are members of Northwest. My husband, Eric Voight is a kindergarten Awana leader, so you may know him from that. WAnyway, we have been praying for you and your family for several months and continue to hold you up in prayer. Blessings!

    The Voight Family

  3. I have not seen them but that would make a great Seinfeld episode!! Praying for you always- Jen

  4. The quote that amazing little 8 year old Boey (Jenessa Byers) lived by, “Be Strong, Never Give Up, and If You Believe Then It Can Happen” (www.jenessabyers.com)

    She is soooo right! We are all praying for you & your family! Stay strong & keep the faith! The truth is (although sometimes hard to feel) God is working for you not against you.

    On a side note, I have to agree with Jen above about the Seinfeld episode. I could hear Kramer telling Jerry in his squeaky voice, “Jerry, I can’t find my toes!” Jerry would then reply, “What? What do you mean you can’t find your toes?” Kramer would reply, “I can’t, Jerry! I just can’t!” 🙂

  5. Jenn Voight – yep, I know you guys. Especially Eric from AWANA. Thanks for the continued prayers!!

    Jen R. and Michelle – The Seinfeld episode is way too funny. Too bad the writer are on strike or maybe they would bring the gang back for one more episode!!

  6. I have rediculopathy in my left leg frequently from a herniated disc in my back…
    I don’t like to think of it as disease, more of a misfiring of ridiculousness. I understand what you mean about walking being odd, sometimes I have to carefully look at where I am placing my feet as I step.
    I saw an extra toe in a movie called “The Big Lebowski” perhaps you should look there.

Leave a Reply

