Guy Speak Defined…

Let’s face it guys, we have our own lingo. Not many people understand it, but we get it. I hope that I am not breaking any man laws here, but I need to get a few out there so the women really know what we are saying. Luckily, our friends at Familyman Ministries has defined our top phrases. Here they are:

  1. “IT’S A GUY THING”
    Translated: “There is no rational thought pattern connected with it, and you have no chance at all of making it logical.”
  2. “CAN I HELP WITH DINNER?”
    Translated: “Why isn’t it already on the table?”
  3. “UH HUH,” “SURE, HONEY,” OR “YES, DEAR”
    Translated: Absolutely nothing. It’s a conditioned response.
  4. “IT WOULD TAKE TOO LONG TO EXPLAIN”
    Translated: “I have no idea how it works.”
  5. “TAKE A BREAK, HONEY. YOU’RE WORKING TOO HARD.”
    Translated: “I can’t hear the game over the vacuum cleaner.”
  6. “THAT’S INTERESTING, DEAR.”
    Translated: “Are you still talking?”
  7. “YOU KNOW HOW BAD MY MEMORY IS.”
    Translated: “I remember the theme song to ‘F Troop,’ the address of the first girl I ever kissed, and the vehicle identification number of every car I’ve ever owned… but I forgot your birthday.”
  8. “OH, DON’T FUSS — I JUST CUT MYSELF. IT’S NO BIG DEAL.”
    Translated: “I have actually severed a limb but will bleed to death before I admit that I’m hurt.”
  9. “HEY, I’VE GOT MY REASONS FOR WHAT I’M DOING.”
    Translated: “And I sure hope I think of some pretty soon.”
  10. “I CAN’T FIND IT.”
    Translated: “It didn’t fall into my outstretched hands, so I’m completely clueless.”
  11. “WHAT DID I DO THIS TIME?”
    Translated: “What did you catch me at?”
  12. “I HEARD YOU.”
    Translated: “I haven’t the foggiest clue what you just said and am hoping desperately that I can fake it well enough so that you don’t spend the next three days yelling at me.”
  13. “YOU KNOW I COULD NEVER LOVE ANYONE ELSE.”
    Translated: “I am used to the way you yell at me and realize it could be worse.”
  14. “YOU LOOK TERRIFIC.”
    Translated: “Oh, please don’t try on one more outfit. I’m starving.”
  15. “I’M NOT LOST. I KNOW EXACTLY WHERE WE ARE.”
    Translated: “No one will ever see us alive again.”
  16. “WE SHARE THE HOUSEWORK.”
    Translated: “I make the messes; she cleans them up.”
6 Responses

  1. Thanks for letting me in on the secret code 🙂

  2. I can’t believe you’re giving out the secrets!

  3. Oh my gosh- now I know what Jim has been saying for the past 15 years! Thanks so much- Jen

  4. Now Stef, you KNOW that there are going to be alot of ticked off husbands out there when they realize what you have done. Thanks though, totally clears up alot of lingo!! Next time Rick tells me that something I told him is interresting, Im going to know exactly what he is really thinking!! Leslie

  5. Hey Stef-

    Just wanted to say hello, We are are thinking and praying for you and your family. i was checking out the All Pro site. Once Tyler is through this, i think we will check it out.

    Tyler got a signed Colts football and a Christmas card from Tony Dungy, and in the card Dungy wrote Tyler about the All Dad program.

    thank care.

    Refuse to Lose

    Fight to Win

    Kyle

  6. Wow !!!! I am amazed. I have been thinking about you guys and I decide to get on and catch up on your blogs. With everything you are going through you still post the most hilarious things. I will be able to read Jeromy’s mind now lol!! Thank you for the laughs and the tears. I think we all need them both sometimes. Your energy and willingness to fight is an inspiration to me Stef, and Sandi!!!
    Praying for you and your sweet family,
    Anna Buehl
    PS say a special little hi to my buddy Justin 🙂

Leave a Reply

