Happy New Year…

happynewyear.jpgAs I reflect on this past year, I realize that God is in total control (and not me, as I would like to think). It has been an interesting year for the Tarapchak family. It started with Stef being in the hospital with a bad case of pneumonia for a few days. The year progressed through sport seasons of soccer and baseball for the boys during the spring. We enjoyed our middle child graduating from pre-school and getting ready to join his big brother at Beacon Elementary. Summer brought us some good stuff and some curve balls. Our daughter turned two and a week later, we enjoyed our annual family vacation to Myrtle Beach. The happiness was short lived upon our return, as a week later, I was diagnosed with stage IV colon cancer. While still in some shock from that, an unexpected vacation to Disney World came about and we enjoyed our time as a family as Sandi and I worked through this difficult time in a place where “dreams and wishes come true”. Fall brought us the first day of school and more soccer for the boys. We are proud of our oldest son, who tried out for and made the Hilliard FC travel soccer team. His ability amazes me and I am already looking at scholarships from division one colleges (well, not right now, but maybe one day)!! We closed out the year with probably the best Christmas that I could have ever had. We spent the day as a family of five and truly enjoyed the entire day (almost the whole day, there was a misfortune with our new Wii, but that is another story for another day — Houston, Wii have a problem!!).

Again, God is in control and directs our paths. We would have never chosen some of the things that came our way this year. We also had some great things come our way that we did not expect. I can say that our faith in God has grown and we just keep following His lead.

We are thankful for the support and friends we have made along the way this year and we wish everyone a happy, safe, healthy and wealthy new year!!

4 Responses

  1. Keeping up with you has blessed me and prayer for you and your precious family continues. I know that you know that He is in control and His eye is on you. I pray that this year brings health and an unsurpassed intimacy with the Father. Blessings~

  2. Happy New Year Stef-

    I am sorry I missed you when you stopped by to see Tyler. He enjoyed the visit. Just wanted to let you know that you continue to be in our prayers.

    Here is to continued victories in 2008.

    REFUSE TO LOSE!
    FIGHT TO WIN!

    Kyle

  3. Happy New Year Stef. I just wanted to check in to let you know that I am steadfast in my prayers for you. My prayer is that God will, “Stretch out his mighty hand with healing power; may miraculous signs and wonders be done through the name of Jesus.” Acts 4:30 NLT

    John

  4. Stef:
    Happy New Year to you and your family! It has been a long time my friend. To me it seems like only yesterday we were hanging out in your backyard on Stanbaugh Ave having our little siblings trying to follow us wherever we went.
    My mother gave me the link to your blog, and I have been back reading your blog during down times, and getting your updates.
    From the sounds of it you have been blessed with a great family, and are handling this life hurdle with great strides. I keep you in my thoughts and prayers Stef. I am wearing your name on my live strong bracelet so that I carry you and your family in my thoughts no matter where I go. Keep up the fight, refuse to lose, and live strong.

    Scott

Leave a Reply

