Sowing the seeds of tomorrow…

So I go to the Columbus Blue Jackets game last night with my buddy Aaron, from Arms Wide Open. The Jackets lose 4-3 in overtime. Oh well, we still had a great time and the conversation is always great with Aaron.

On the way home, we were talking about various things and we landed on my journey as a topic. I made the comment that I hope one person is touched and gets blessed in some way because of my journey. I mean, what is my purpose on this earth, if God decides that it is my time? Have I touched anyone at all? I did not say that to pat myself on the back, or anything like that at all. I just want to be the person Christ expects me to be and help reach people for Him. My prayer is that I am doing that in some way.

Aaron’s response was great and I hope I can do it some justice via the following words. He was talking about how Max Lucado painted one scenario that could happen. Upon our arrival in heaven, we would be introduced to people that we did now know, but as a result of watching or listening to us (me) they ended up in heaven. There is the possibility that we would be introduced to our grandchildren and great grandchildren. Aaron went on to say that we are sowing seeds in our children as we live by example and teach them about God. Our hope would be that they would then teach their children about God. Thus, sowing the seeds of the future and leaving a legacy!

My prayer is that my kids grow to love the Lord and that they will continue not my legacy, but God’s. I know that I have been blessed by many and I hope that I am a blessing to many, starting with my family.

4 Responses

  1. I think you said that better than I did! Stef, there is no doubt in my mind that you are weaving a legacy of faith through your entire family. You and Sandy have planted seeds of faith in your children that will grow strong. Your impact for the Kingdom through your journey cannot be measured. We are all blessed to share this journey with you and watch a God that is still on his throne work and move. You’re a blessing to many and your because of your investment in family, so are they.

    Refuse to lose!!

  2. I have to agree with Aaron whole heartedly! Thanks for sharing your families journey with ours! Tha Ringers

  3. Stef, I don’t know when we’ll meet up there, but we will. When we do, get ready to sit awhile while I fill you in on how you and Sandi have touched me, by your humour, your courage, your vulnerability and your strength – yes strength. Thank you. More later…much later.

  4. Stef, I know you are touching people as you share your heart and story while walking through this journey. You’ve touched my heart for sure!

    My sister just found out yesterday for sure that she has cancer, breast and bone and will have surgery right after Christmas. I pray that she will find the same strength in Jesus as you have, and will encourage her to check out your blog.

    Your children are blessed to have a father who loves them and loves the Lord; they have a rich legacy being lived out before them. Someday when we are with the Lord in heaven I believe we’ll be surprised to see how many lives we touched, even in the simple acts and words of kindness that demonstrated Gods love, and faith.

    Have a very blessed Christmas, I’m sure you are cherishing every moment this year!

    Jesus love and grace to you; you remain in my thoughts and prayers. I’m glad Aaron gave you a hug for me 🙂

    Bless you!

    Susan

Leave a Reply

