Not a great weekend…

coldflu.jpgYes, it is flu season. Yes, I got the stomach flu late Friday night. What fun that is. After being up all Friday night, I spent all day Saturday and most all of Sunday in bed. Living on PowerAde and crackers is also not on my top ten things to do on a weekend. So, starting to get some food back into my ever shrinking body. Right now, I am so skinny, I get discounts at the hospital for my x-rays because they just hold me up to the light. Anyway, getting the flu on top of continued surgery recovery is just not right. Life is not fair.

tears.jpgOn a more serious note and keeping with the not a great weekend theme, I was told on Sunday that a friend of mine, who has survived colon cancer, has relapsed. He is now fighting two other cancers at the same time. My heart is so heavy for he and his wife. I respect this person and look up to him and I cried when I heard this news. WHY!!! I need to know why things like this happen!! Again, life is not fair.

We don’t always know why, but through it all God is in control.

7 Responses

  1. I just wanted to drop you a line to let you know that Barry & I have been faithfully praying for you & your family. I read your blog pretty much every day. Sorry to hear you have been sick with the flu on top of everything else your body is fighting through. Although we may not understand why, just remember that nothing can stop or change the plans of God for each of our lives. I’ve been reading the Psalms lately…just love that book! Here’s just a couple to read…Psalm 20…Psalm 27:1-3; 14…Psalm 41:1-3…Psalm 62:1-2…Psalm 139.

    Since you had such a rough weekend, may this news give you a little smile…I’m in my 17th week of pregnancy!!! This will be our first child if everything goes good. I’m 32 & Barry is 37. We’ve been married 10 years. Right now my RA is in some sort of remission. This is normal during pregnancy I guess. After delivery I have a 1/3 chance of staying in remission…a 1/3 chance of going back to the way my RA was before…or a 1/3 chance of getting much, much worse. I guess we will cross that bridge in mid-May sometime. Anyway, I didn’t think having children would be an option for me because of my disease. God had other plans…thank you, Lord, for always being in control of our lives!!! πŸ™‚

  2. Don’t forget Vernors. My mom grew up drinking that when she was sick.

    We’ll continue to keep you in our prayers brother!

    REFUSE TO LOSE!

  3. No, it’s not fair. I’m sorry to hear about your flu on top of everything else…geez…

    You may not see it, but God is using you. Even in your suffering I am inspired and blessed by your faith in our Lord. Refuse to lose!!

    David.

  4. Stef,

    I, too, am a faithful reader and “pray-er” for you and your precious family. Life is not fair and how can we know the why of it all? My son was diagnosed with Type 1, juvenile diabetes at the young age of 6. He is now 14. Life has been tough, especially for me, because I’m his mom. I struggle with what his future holds because he has to live on insulin the rest of his life. We have almost lost him a couple of times to severe low blood sugar reactions with seizures. I struggle with will he even be able to grow up and have a family and live a long and normal life. I understand the whys that you have but I don’t have any answers. I do know that God gives us grace to go through what we experience. And our trials make us more like Him. So, in all of the craziness, you ARE being conformed to His image. That, in itself, is exciting and encouraging news. You continue to be in my prayers, as well as many, many others.

  5. Mud, I agree! Vernors is a great “remedy”. I also grew up with Vernors by my side when I was ill.

  6. Hey Stef. I subscribe to your blog and faithfully read about your struggle. Your “WHY” particularly touched me today. In October 2005 my wife (43 yo) passed away from complications related to breast cancer. My soul screams “WHY” to this day. I’m right there with you brother. My old pastor enjoyed saying “Life isn’t fair, if it was fair we’d all be in Hell.” Stay strong and refuse to lose!

  7. Stef,

    You grew up with Vernors? You must be from Michigan! We got ours room temp. and flat when we were sick as kids.

    Your comment about the x-rays with just the light made me laugh. πŸ™‚

    Sorry to hear about your friend’s illness.

    Mary Lynn Hartman

Leave a Reply

