What to do with my time…

stewardship.gifSo, I have be afforded about four or five weeks at home. What to do? I was sitting in my chair on Sunday afternoon when it hit me. I need to be a good steward of the time that I have been afforded. I need to take advantage of this time and not waste it. It will be so easy to watch movies, play video games, sleep, etc. Is this a good use of my time? Sure, to some extent. Some down time is good, but what about:

1. Spending some solid time with my wife and strengthening that relationship.

2. Spending some good quality time with the kids and doing what they want to do and play the games they want to play, etc.

3. Cultivating friendships that I have neglected. I need to pick up the phone and call some friends to come over for a visit.

4. Digging into the Word. I have been wanting to go through the book of Romans for awhile now. I am at home with time on my hands, no excuses now.

These are just a few items. I have been afforded a luxury that people just don’t get. I have time to spend and I need to be a good steward of that time.

9 Responses

  1. God bless you, Stef. I wish there was something I could do for you and your family to ease the burden of the many thinags that need to be done while you recover.

    May God’s peace wash over you.

    David.

  2. Wow, I am impressed with your list. Many people would just sit back and say why me? I am in so much pain, etc.
    You have totally taken the opposite approach…lemonade from lemons so to speak.

    Godspeed on your list. I just finished a study of Romans, and man oh man what a great book! My pastor refers to it as “the T-bone steak” of Christian doctrine, the meatiest juiciest cut.

    You continue to be in my prayers.

  3. You are so right and I know God will bless you in your endeavor to get closer to your family, friends and especially Him. We are still praying peace and healing for you.

  4. That’s good advice for all of us!

  5. Stef
    Sue and I are so happy to hear your good news. WE have been praying for you and your family on a daily basis and will contiue to do so long after you have won this battle.
    YOU are such and inspiration to all of us. I look forward daily to reading your post and see how God is working through you for all of us who read these comments.

    Praise be to God for allowing you to touch each of our lives in such a positive way. My friend you are a huge inspirtation to Sue and I and we love you for it.

  6. I’m at home for a few weeks too. Not for the same reasons as you but I can totally related to being a good steward of one’s time, especially when it’s unexpected. I’m so glad to “see” your voice again. We’ve been praying for you over here! God bless you.

  7. Wendy say’s number one!….maybe Sandy will agree.

  8. Wow! What a great perspective! What a great outlook…

    So glad you’re home and doing well.

    It has been my honor to pray for you and the family…I will continue to do so…

  9. Romans is an excellent book to study. The power to overcome problem sin areas is in that book. If you need another resource, I have the Ironside commentary on Romans. Give me the word and I’ll drop it by.

    Watchman Nee’s “The Normal Christian Life” is also an excellent read based on Romans.

Leave a Reply

