I’m Baaaack….

Yes, it is good to be back. Had to take some time to get back in the saddle now that I am home. I have a few things I need to take care of here:

First, a huge THANK YOU to my wife for posting while I was in the hospital. She did a wonderful job and we received many thank yous for the timely updates. Thanks for taking the reigns, babe, I love you!!

Second, I cannot thank the hundreds upon hundreds of people that prayed for me and my family. We definitely felt the prayers on the day of surgery and I continued to feel them throughout the week. Thanks to your faithful and confident prayers, we won a huge battle on Friday, October 26th!! The war is not over, but we made an enormous dent in the enemy on that day.

As for me, I am doing great. Pain management continues to be the main issue. I have my appetite back, all my organs are fully awake again, I am able to get up and around (although I do get tired), and I think I am sufficiently driving Sandi crazy in week one at home!!

We had a follow up with our surgeon today. Did not get a chance to ask some of the questions that I wanted to, but we see him again in two weeks. He made a comment that initially bothered me, but then I saw that God had answered our prayers. At one point in the conversation today, our surgeon mentioned that he was worried if he would have been able to do anything for me. That hit me sideways for a few seconds, then thoughts went back to God who answered our prayers and used our surgeon to do His will on that day! To God be the glory!

So, I will be at home for the next four to five weeks. I plan on seeing if I can train the dog to sit, lay and rollover (highly unlikely). I plan on messing with the boys by living in opposite world (a place they tend to live in at times that drives Sandi and I nuts). I will try to see if I can confuse my little girl by teaching her that red is really blue and yellow is really orange. I am sure that I will catch up on some movies that I have not seen and will also try to read a book! Lastly, I will see how far I can push Sandi to the brink of insanity before she pummels me and puts me back into the hospital!!

Again, thanks for the thoughts, prayers, visits, toys, food, etc. Sandi and I appreciate everything that has been done for us!

6 Responses

  1. Glad to have you back. Do you have a bell to ring for Sandi? My mother had one…I wanted to throw it out the window. We got some good laughs then. Does it hurt to laugh?laughter is good for the soul. Take this time to enjoy the Lord and your beautiful family. Welcome back!!

  2. Stef: You are one of the most awesome people I know (next to God, of course). Never lose your sense of humor…..and let us know if you get that bell. Kudos to Sandi, and prayers for you all. So good to hear from you.

  3. Stef, you are truely a real trooper! Im so glad that your home and back to your normal funny Stefan I remember from high school. Enjoy your few weeks off because they will go fast and enjoy your family as much as you can, embrase every day and moment with them because im sure they will be doing the same!!! Dont drive your wife to crazy, she doesnt deserve it, she has been so good to you. Enjoy your recovery!!!

  4. Glad to read you are on the road to recovery!

  5. Live it up brother! Glad to see you back online and doing good!!

  6. Welcome back to blogland Stef!
    Hope you have fun during your recoup time and yes, are also a good steward. ( I read the other post and thought they were great suggestions. But do have fun, laughter is so very healing! ) 🙂

    Blessings to you in Christ!

    Susan

Leave a Reply

