No NG Tube…

Hey, I just wanted to let everyone know that Stef finally got his NG tube taken out this morning.  He was able to eat liquids for dinner tonight.  Hopefully, he will start to get some strength back.  He is still battling fatigue and pain.  I know both of these are part of the long journey, but it’s hard when you’re in it.  Thanks to all of you who read this blog and pray for us and for those who are walking alongside of us through this.  I would ask that as we continue on this long journey, please remember our three young children.  For those who don’t know us personally, they are 2, 5, and 8.  They are such innocent souls.  The two oldest (boys) have each had their moments throughout this.  Their names are Derek and Justin.  Carley, our 2 year old is pretty much oblivious.  It is hard to think that as she gets older, this could define her younger years.  So please pray that life will still be fun and entertaining for them.  However, their dad DOES have colon cancer, so that is a huge part of their lives.  I want to teach them to live life fully, but also appreciate every moment.  God has been so good to our family.  I want our kids to realize that even with this horrible event in our lives, there are still so many things to thank Him for.  So tonight, please pray for Stef’s healing, but say a special prayer for our precious children.  We both love them so much.  Thanks and good night.

12 Responses

  1. Sandi,
    You and Stef and the kids are very much in my prayers. I’ve been blessed to have met you. Thank you for keeping us updated. (Hannah’s mama.)

  2. It’s alot for little people to bear, hard to get their minds around it all. But, I will say that God gives us grace for every moment and I know He is doing that for you, Stef and your precious children. Know we are still praying and will continue. Much love to you all in Jesus!!

  3. All 5 of you are in my daily prayers!!

    While reading your post about your kids and their lives being defined now, I couldn’t help but think about the video I posted on my blog last night.

    These Small Hours

  4. Sandi, you ,stef and the kids are daily in my prayers and in our prayer circle at church. I know you have lots of support,but know that I am here if you need anything………

  5. you are in my prayers everyday..The lord bless you and keep you …may he shine his face on you 5 and give you peace

  6. Hey guys

    We’re praying for all of you…especially your 3 awesome kiddos. They are such wonderful kids and we think so much of them and how you’ve parented them. Thank God for your commitment to raising them His way and for the time you were able to fill their tanks, to prepare them for this journey. You’ll still be filling their tanks throughout and we’ll pray you have the energy to continue and also find new ways to do so.
    Praying Ps. 73:26 for all aspects of your lives right now… that God will be the strength of your heart and your portion forever.

  7. Stef, Sandi, Derek, Justin and Carley: Please know that you are all in my prayers every day and right now I am praising God that Stef is “on the recovery road”. It is so good to hear reports of your children. They are so very precious. You will all remain in my prayers daily. MAY CHRIST GIVE TO YOU AT THIS TIME AND ALWAYS
    HIS PEACE IN YOU SOUL HIS PRESENCE IN YOUR HEART and
    HIS POWER IN YOUR LIFE

  8. Aunt Sandi, i will pray for all of you. I hope that uncle Stef will feel better than he is now soon! i love all of you guys! Tell the kids i said hi! ♥ kels

  9. We are offering up prayers for all of you.

  10. We are praying for the kids!! God has something for them through this too. It was good to hear Stef had solid food yesterday!! God is so good! I guess I am going to have to make a bigger meal for you guys!! Love u all- Jen

  11. When my husband was at his lowest point, his main concern was for our two boys. He could handle that his life on earth might be coming to an end, but not that his two sons would grow up without him, their father. The verse that came to my mind as I was grasping for anything that would comfort him is Isaiah 40:11 “He gathers the lambs in his arms and carries them close to his heart; he gently leads those that have young.” As I was skimming the surrounding passages, I immedately came upon Isaiah 38 (?)where the Isaiah was telling Hezekiah that his life was over and that he needed to get his affairs in order. Hezekiah pleaded for his life and God gave him 15 more years. The Word of God has specific promises for you and your family too. I have found them by reading my Bible sometimes just opening it up and reading the first page that it opens to, sometimes through our pastor’s sermons, messages at church or songs on Christian radio, even my son’s devotional book! The right verse or pasage at the right time. That’s when you know the Word of God is alive and still speaking to us today! Hang in there, things will get better! ~Carmen (Psalm 91 is good too)

  12. I am also still praying and am so glad I can pray specifically for your children too!

Leave a Reply

