Answered Prayer

Hi, it’s Sandi filling in for Stef–

Wow! What a day this has been. Actually, what a journey these past three months have been. We have been awaiting this day for some time now. We waited with both fear and excitement. We had a fear of the unknown because we didn’t know for sure what they would be doing once they opened Stef up, and we had excitement because of the possibilities of this surgery.  We definitely saw what God can do.  I do have to thank our amazing support system also.  We have so many amazing friends and family who shared of their time with us over the last few days.  Some dear girl friends of mine had me up for lunch yesterday and a time of prayer.  Last night, some friends of Stef’s came to our house to pray with Stef.  Today, we had some wonderful people sit with me  at the hospital to help pass those long hours.  A wonderful friend of Stef’s was there, seven of my friends sat with me and kept my mind off of things, my mom and dad, my sister, one of my brothers and his family, my niece and her boyfriend, my mother-in-law and sister-in-law, a dear friend to both of us, and our pastor all were there for part of the process or the duration of the surgery to support us.  Stef finally made it into the OR around 10 am.  He went to recovery at 3pm.  He then made it up to his room at 545pm.  I talked to the surgeon and he said things went better than he expected.  The cancer did not seem to be as extensive as he thought.  We ARE still dealing with Stage 4 cancer, so please continue to hold us up in prayer.  Our journey is far from over.  However, the surgeon feels that he was able to remove about 90% of the cancer.  He only had to remove the omentum (the sheet like drape that hangs down from the transverse colon) and the sigmoid colon (a small portion of the large colon where the largest tumor was).  He was able to “peel” the cancer from the bladder and stomach, so those things did not have to be really messed with.  He did remove some other tumors throughout the abdomen as well.  We are so thankful for this remarkable answer to prayer.  I was able to see Stef around 615pm and he was doing well.  He knew about the outcome of the surgery and was so excited about this good news.  I just want to thank all you who prayed for us and remembered us today as we took this path towards full healing today.  Please remember to continue to pray as this is far from over.  We still covet your prayers.  Stef will need much strength and encouragement over the next days and weeks AND months.  Please continue to check in on him.  We love that.  It reminds us that someone was thinking of us.  I will try to keep everyone updated as to his progress until he can take over.  Thanks again for all the love and support and prayer.  We truly serve a God of miracles.  Good night!

29 Responses

  1. AUNT SANDI! it was so great to hear from my dad about the surgery. I miss you guys so much. i am so grateful that we serve a wonderful God. we will continue to pray and hopefully will see you guys within the next few months. love you guys SO much! dont ever forget that! love, kelsey

  2. Hi Sandi
    The power of prayer is so amazing. Its so wonderful that God has given your family this wonderful news. Our prayers are with you everyday . You are one strong lady and my cuz is blessed to have you. love you all Dawn

  3. Holy crap!
    Not the most eloquent of responses, but the first words that came to mind. I am just SO happy and inspired by this. You pray your guts out, no pun intended, but in the back of your mind you just wonder. And then. . . .wonder. . . .REALLY wonder at the awesome power of prayer. As I sit in ICU with my son, I rejoice in this triumph with you and pray that the success continues.

  4. Sandi – Praise God! We are so excited for you and for Stef. I just can’t get the joy out of my heart and mind tonight. Thank you for sharing the journey with us. To God be the glory!!

    PS- Let me know when you think he’s ready to have “the talk” about this “used to be a Carolina fan” stuff! We love you guys!

  5. Sandi–what amazing strength you and Stef have shown! Praise God, our Jehova Jireh. We’ll continue in prayer.

  6. […] Sandi has posted a full update from the surgery today on Stef’s blog. You can read it all (HERE). To God be the […]

  7. Sandi,
    We’ve been praying for Stef, especially last night and today. Thanks for the update. I was hoping to hear how it went, and it sounds like it went very well! Thank the Lord! Praying for Stef’s recovery, for no complications or infection, for his further treatment, for your stamina, and for the kids –
    Mary Lynn Hartman

  8. […] **UPDATE** Progress Report #1 Progress Report #2 […]

  9. Thanks for taking the time to give us a status report! You guys have a ton of people lifting you up in prayer!!

  10. Sandi…thanks for jumping on here you an amazing wife….This is amazing stuff…
    Our God is amazing.

  11. Hi Sandii~
    My name is Carmen Jobe and I am a longtime friend of Janet Fleming from our high school years. My husband and I went through the exact same thing you are experiencing now eight months ago. My husband is relatively young (for colon cancer) and we have two sons, ages 6 and 2. If you ever need anyone to talk to who has walked through a similar situation (and is still on the journey just a few steps ahead), don’t hesitate to contact me. Great passage that God directed me to last night is Psalm 91.
    Carmen
    c_jobe@sbcglobal.net

  12. Praise God!! We serve such an awesome God. We were so thrilled with the success of the surgery. We will be praying for Stef as he goes through recovery. Of course, we will be praying for you , the kids, and all of your extended family. Thanks for taking the time to share the good news.

  13. I have no idea who you are. I just learned about your family this morning and have been praying throughout the day. I am genuinely excited for you all, and relieved, as if you were my physical family. Then the Lord reminded me how connected we are as His children…and how much more so when we pray together.

    What a day! I am rejoicing with you and will continue praying!

  14. Sandi—Praise God!!! What great news! Yes, there is still a tough road ahead, but each day is moving forward. Continuing to pray for you all…

  15. Sandi–I was so please to hear your encouraging news. God is truly an AWESOME god. Our church and family have been praying for you since I talked to you some time back. Our children pray for Stef every night. We will continue to pray as you continue on your journey of recovery. Please let us know if we can help in any way. God bless.

  16. Sandi,
    I am so glad that Stef’s surgery went so well. I believe we have all seen the awesome power of prayer and Gods love for those who seek him. Will pray fervently in the weeks and months to come. Stay strong.
    In Him.
    Sue

  17. Again, Praise God. Oh how He is working through your family!

    We’ll see you soon.

    Please tell Steph REFUSE TO LOSE!

  18. Personally, I never doubted that God would have His will in this, and that the outcome will be to His glory. Having said that, I’m very grateful that His will seems to be in line with ours, corporately!

  19. I Am friend of Sue Sztager. I heard of your condition via e-mail. I have always believed in prayer. I am so happy for you and your family that things went well. We will continue to keep you and your family in our prayers. God can do many things that we think may not be possible. Continue the G OOF FIGHT.

  20. Praise the Lord they were able to remove so much of it and that he was only minimally affected from the surgery. We are so thankful! We are still praying for you all.

  21. Thanks for providing an update. You are in my prayers continuously and am so happy that the surgery went well. I’m so happy that God allowed me to meet Stef a few years ago through Cerner so I can share in this burden with you!

    God is good all of the time. He is using Stef to reach so many people with such great strength that I am in awe!

    Amy

  22. What great news. Thanks for letting us rejoice with you. Your post was terrific. Stef would be proud of you! I know he is. I thank God for protecting Stef and for strengthening you during his surgery. I pray you will continue to feel his presence and power.

  23. I am so happy to hear the positive report. My prayers will continue until this thing is knocked out completely. I hope to one day meet you all.

    Yoked together in Christ,
    John

  24. God is a God of miracles……………………..praying that this is a BIG step towards that miracle. May you feel His peace!

    Paul & Jackie Wetzel

  25. Sandi and Stef,
    when we read Aarons post on the surgery we praised God for quite some time that there was good news!!! He is so Faithful! We still believe and will pray for complete healing.

    Blessings, grace and strength to you in Jesus love,

    Susan

  26. […] UPDATE #1 *** *** UPDATE #2 *** *** UPDATE #3 […]

  27. Stef and Sandi,
    We are sp grateful for answered prayer. We will not let up. God is using both of you in so many great ways. We pray for your kids too-that they will know God’s peace and power by watching Him work in their dad’s life. Your answered prayer has increased our faith in an amazing GOD. We love you and continue to pray.
    Chad and Kristi Coe

  28. […] Stef’s surgery went better than expected! Praise to the God of Miracles! Read all about it in his blog here. […]

  29. Tired of getting low numbers of useless visitors to your site? Well i want to tell you about a brand new underground tactic that produces me personally $900 daily on 100% AUTOPILOT. I could be here all day and going into detail but why dont you merely check their website out? There is really a great video that explains everything. So if your seriously interested in producing effortless money this is the website for you. Auto Traffic Avalanche

Leave a Reply

