Oncologist and Surgical Consult Updates…

Well, I have been bad about posting again. Sorry about that. So here is the latest from some meetings this past week.

Met with our oncologist on Tuesday. he was just as shocked and disappointed about my last CT scan as I was. He did take some time out of one of his days to sit with a radiologist and review my scan. It seems that the cancer did get worse, but the scan looked better than the report read. So, it is a little worse than before, but not as horribly bad as I originally thought. I am off of chemo as I prep for surgery and that makes me a little nervous. We are basically taking me off of chemo for a month and letting the cancer go until surgery. Not my idea of a good time as this is weighing heavily on my mind. We know this cancer is aggressive and we are just letting it ride for about a month. Not really sure what to think about this.

On Thursday, we met with our surgeon. GREAT meeting with him. He really put my mind at ease about the surgery. I started asking a bunch of questions and he answered every last one of them. Then he sat and talked to me. He told me not to worry about anything. He told me that I will have a first class team around me that day in surgery. He reassured me that all will go well and that the team will take care of me. At that time, I felt a shot of God’s grace as I began to be calm and assured all would be well. Then our surgeon focused on Sandi. He told her that she would have the harder day then me. He is right. I am going to be out cold for about 9 or 10 hours in surgery and recovery. On the other hand, our surgeon wanted to ensure that Sandi would have family and friends around her that day. I was very surprised that our surgeon was so worried about Sandi that day. He knew that the day of surgery would be hard for Sandi. He will give her updates hourly on my status during surgery, but she will be wondering and waiting for 9 hours or so. She will have the harder day, no doubt about it.

Bad news…the surgery has been postponed for a week. There is a certain drug that was in my chemo mix that causes me to bleed more than normal. My surgeon wanted me off of that drug for eight weeks. Well, the original surgery date of October 19th in only seven weeks out. So, we had to move the surgery date to October 26th. So, it is a waiting game at this point.

Pray requests: Keep praying as you have been. I have listed a few in my last update post, but I would like to add a new on. Like I noted earlier in this post, I am off of chemo. Please pray that the cancer will not spread any further than it has. The cancer cannot spread to my small bowel, bladder, liver, lungs or stomach. At this time, the cancer is not being treated until surgery, so it is on it’s own. Pray that the cancer does not spread and even shrinks or even GOES AWAY!!!

On the journey!!

16 Responses

  1. always in my prayers man…always

  2. Still praying, Stef and will keep on. God bless you, Sandi and your children.

  3. Hang in there Stef! I recently sang a special and thought of you. “God will make a way when there seems to be no way, forever HE is faithful….” We keep our whole church updated on your condition and are praying collectively for you and your family. Remember how special you are to us and know you are loved!

  4. Hey Stef, I was reading my devotion today and the passage made me think of you, read ps 91:10-11 or Is 41:10-11 also Is 43:2-3. It was all part of The Word for you today! I remembered how you said that you were anxious, as humans its so easy for us to feel that way but God says to give our troubles to him. These passages all tell you to say it, believe it and then receive it!!! END OF STORY!!!! You know that my family and i are praying for you and for your family!! Like i said before, were standing in the gap for you friend! Take care and God really bless you

  5. Just wanted you to know we love you and are praying for you. “Journey” is an interesting term, since sometimes God calls us to wait and be still. As you wait and trust, may you find incredible strength and peace knowing you are in loving Hands.

  6. Hey Uncle Stef, I will keep praying for you. Hoping for the very best. I will be praying for Aunt Sandi, Derek, Justin, and Carly too. Love you guys! – kels

  7. Hey cuz,
    Im still praying for you and your family every day . I will not forget you on your surgery day I will be praying like crazy. Love ya

  8. Steph, stay strong! We’re praying for you!

    D.

  9. Stef, we too are still praying for you and Sandi! Personally I am rooting for and praying that “it even GOES AWAY!!!”

    May God be with you and continue to give you abundant grace and peace,

    Susan

  10. Luke 18-the parable of the woman and the judge: ” …men ought always to pray and not to faint (or lose heart)”. In this parable the woman is a poor widow. The lowest and least powerful in the society, She begs the judge to hear her case and grant justice and mercy. Basically the judge gets tired of her persistence and does what she asks. Jesus wants us to pray like this. My family and I are that woman. We have no power in ourselves, but we are going to bug God until He heals you. WE are on it round the clock. Blessings, bec

  11. Your situation was, naturally, brought up again tonight in Prayer Meeting. Though it’s not big, the Bible tells us that “Where two or three are gathered together, in My name, there am I in the midst of them.” And we know He hears and answers prayer – in His own way and time. The other verse I would claim for you is Jeremiah 33:3 – “Call unto me and I will answer thee, and show thee great and mighty things which thou knowest not.” Our prayers will continue to be with you.
    Sincerely in Christ – or, as my friend Peter Chase concludes, “In His Grip”,
    Jack

  12. Sandi, When you and your sister worked here at CDR, those were such good times… you both were so efficient. Just wanted you and Stef to know that we here at CDR are praying for you both. Brad Hulls has been keeping us updated, as he now works here with us. Praying for God’s healing, and for His special comfort for you both. Love ya, Carolyn

  13. We prayed for you at our 1st Impressions team meeting Sunday morning. We’re hoping that the surgery will be a momentum breaker and will turn this thing around for you and your family!
    Psalm 91:4 reads He will cover you with his feathers and under his wings you will find refuge;his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.

  14. Praying for you every day buddy. Will have a little army here in Springfield praying for you on the 26th!

  15. I am part of the prayer army in Springfield that Todd Roberts has set up and I am a CU grad (’88). We are praying for you and your family. God is Great and you are in His grip!

  16. Hi,
    I got this site from our Daily e-mailed Prayer Requests at Cedarville University. The request was to pray for you and a link to this blog.

    I just thought it would be cool for you to know that someone else in the body of Christ that you don’t even know is praying for you guys right now. ~ a reminder of how much bigger than our own circumstances and environment that our God is.

    Eph. 3:14-21
    God Bless you guys!

    In His Grace,
    Priscilla

Leave a Reply

