Chemo – Round #5…

See, I told you that I would be a little more timely on this one. I am doing ok, again, this time. No horrible days in bed right now. The new wrinkle this time are hiccups! Are you kidding me!! I have had the hiccups since Wednesday morning and they are driving me crazy. I have called my doctor and am on meds to combat them, but they are driving me nuts!!! I just cannot believe it. Anyway, I am doing well, have and appetite and am taking it easy at work during my chemo weeks.

SOME UPDATES:

Next CT scan will be on October 9th. I am very excited, as I firmly believe that the chemo is working and that the tumor is shrinking and the spreading of the cancer has stopped.

Next surgical consult is on October 11th. We should be setting the final date for surgery then.

Surgery will probably be the week of October 22nd. Please pray for my peace of mind, as this surgery has really been affecting me mentally and I don’t want it to. Pray for my quick recovery and for Sandi as she will need to run the entire house for herself and take care of me during recovery. Pray for her strength to get through those seven weeks of recovery with me.

I would just like to say thanks, again, for all of the prayer and support that we have been receiving. It is a blessing to us and I hope to you as well.

7 Responses

  1. Hiccups! Crazy. I suppose you’ve heard all sorts of home remedies by now, if you’re on meds for them. Who knew there were meds for hiccups?

    I can’t resist: Have you tried bending over and drinking from the back of a glass? That’s a good one. 🙂

    The surgery must be a daunting thing to face, and yet such a blessing that you have this choice before you. I will pray for peace of mind for you as you endure the wait.

    Hope to see you all at Homecoming.

  2. Hey, you should let the Today show know about your hiccups! I am sure they would get you a spot on the show! Hope you have a good week and we continue to pray for you and God’s healing! Jen

  3. Just wanted to let you know that I am committing to pray for you every day in October. Thanks for the updates.

  4. Hey Stef,

    This is Todd from Northwest Bible Church, your old First Impressions Parking guy. I’ve been following your blog and it’s been a real inspiration to me. I just thought I’d post a reply because the hiccups thing caught my eye. I watched a tv show one time, one of those true stories of the ER things, about hiccups. This lady had had them constantly for like two weeks. She went in to the ER because she didn’t know what else to do. At first the doctor laughed it off but then decided he would do everything he could to fix it. He consulted medical journals and websites and talked to everyone at the hospital to get home remedies. Nothing worked! Finally he heard about a pressure point on the forehead. It right about where your nose meets your eye socket or just above on your forehead. Apparently, there is a nerve that runs up there that connects to the diaphragm. I guess hiccups are caused by a spasm of the diaphragm. After two weeks of the hiccups, he tried that on the lady and it worked! I’ve tried it before myself, and it works! Use both hands and apply pressure to that area of the forehead just above the nose and eye sockets, right in between your eyebrows. It’s worth a shot!

  5. Our prayers are with you! In the middle of the pain and worry are God’s reasons, comfort and healing. Your love and strength will get Sandi and your kids through all of this. Knowing you need them will motivate them and God’s power will be evident to them in every step of healing along the way! I hope you have found relief from the hiccups! Hope to see you soon. Sharyn

  6. You, Sandi and your children are in my heart and prayers. Thank you for being so vulnerable in your sharing. You give hope to so many. God bless you abundantly.

  7. praying for you and your family to everyday of the week this is from deb rogers

Leave a Reply

