Second opinion…

This Monday, September 10th, Sandi and I have an appointment with a physician at the James Cancer Hospital that is affiliated with Ohio State University.  We are not looking for a new diagnosis, I have what I have.  We are looking for a second opinion on my treatment plan.

Don’t get me wrong, we like the oncologist that we are with and he is giving me the most aggressive chemo treatments available.  We are looking at the James because they are a major cancer research center and they know and are creating cutting edge treatments.  Our current oncologist has even encouraged us to look around at other alternatives.  He knows the physicians at the James and has nothing but great things to say about the physician we are seeing.

Pray that we will have a good visit with the physician. Pray that we may find more aggressive treatments.  Pray that whatever we may be told or learn about on Monday, that Sandi and I will have peace about it. 

Also pray for me as I mentally prepare for round #4 of chemo that will be coming up next week.  Also pray for me and my weight management.  I am continuing to loose weight and I cannot afford to lose anymore.  I was 182 lbs. in early June.  My weigh in at the hospital when this all started was 172 lbs.  Last weigh in was 156 lbs.  I am to be consuming 2600 to 3000 calories per day, but I am tired of eating, to be honest.  Hopefully this will help all of you be able to pray more specifically over the next couple of weeks.

8 Responses

  1. Stefan,

    Reading this early and praying that you get some good new advice on Monday.

    Dr. Farrar is supposed to be wonderful – hope it’s him…..

  2. Hey Stef…just wanted to let you know that I’ll continue to be praying for you daily! We love you and Sandi!

  3. Praying always that God will meet and exceed your needs and desires to glorify Himself through you!

  4. I think going to the James is a great idea. Friends and co-workers there recommend Dr Bakaii Saab for colon cancer. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

  5. Hey. I encourage you in what you will see and hear at the James. I have a very close friend who helped her mother through Lukemia and spent much time at the James. Her mom is a survivor and also has nothing but wonderful things to say about her time at “the James”. I have passed your “Journey” on to her. Being a very strong prayer warrior I know she is praying with some very specifics as she knows from experience some of what you are facing and dealing with.

    My prayers are with you and your family through this.

  6. Hey Stef,

    The James is a great place. There is nothing wrong with a second opinion. Explore every option u have, to beat this thing. U know I work in the NICU over in Doan Hall so maybe we’ll cross paths. The James is only to the left of Doan Hall where I’m at. You and your family are constantly on my mind and in my prayers Stef. Wish you were in California. I know a possible remedy for weight gain and keeping up your appetite. It works great for cancer patients, (researched has backed this up), but unfortunately Ohio is not on the band wagon yet. But my prayers are with you guys.

    qiana

  7. My family and I continue to pray.

  8. Stef,

    I just heard about your circumstances at the CHI golf outing on Friday. I did not know. I have a best friend in PA fighting cancer also. My family’s prayers are with you also!

    Take care

    Rich Wisnoski

Leave a Reply

