When is “Thank You” enough…

thank-you.jpgThis journey is teaching me lessons. I know you are shocked and surprised! Those of you who really know me laughing right now, knowing that learning lessons is very difficult for me. One of the biggest lessons I am TRYING to learn is that just saying “thank you” is enough.

For example, a couple weeks ago, I had five very good friends come over and stain my back fence, a play set and my deck. They also did some yard work for me as well. After all of that, a thank you was all I could muster and that is all they needed.

Other examples are unexpected meals being delivered, my driveway being sealed, and other things like this. A simple and trite “thank you” is all that is said and people are ok with that. I have a hard time with this. I am usually the one giving and not receiving. It’s true, it is better/easier to give than to receive. But I struggle with this. I feel like I am getting into some kind of “friend debt”. How about that for coining a phrase! I feel like I need and want to return the favors, but every time, I am met with an “are you kidding me, a thank you is all we need”.

One good friend put it this way. He told me not to rob him of the joy he gets in helping me. That statement started to put this into perspective. Who am I to rob someone of some joy or a blessing they will get for helping me or someone else.

So, I will continue to walk the journey saying “thank you” and hope that I learn the lesson that a “thank you” is all people need.

9 Responses

  1. Stef – I hate to speak for everyone else, but I am guessing if you pulse the crowd they would tell you that you don’t even need to say thank you. Many times we wish we could do so much more. Sharing the road, seeing your faith, your strength and that of your family says more then you will ever know.

  2. Stef – You are a great man and are deserving of all these caring acts. It eases my mind to know that you are surrounded by such good friends. My families prayers are with you. Cree

  3. Hi Stef. I just wanted to let you know that my family has been praying for you. Please let us know if there is ANYTHING we can do for you.

    Also, for something fun I just tagged you a meme. You can check it out on my blog at http://www.lifeslittlestblessings.com. Have fun!

  4. Ok, I just gave you the wrong blog address. It is actually http://lifeslittlestblessings.blogspot.com/

  5. Stef, maybe it is your friends that should say “thanks” for allowing your light to shine through this time in your life and let it touch our own lives! Jen

  6. A thank you really has a profound meaning when the receiver knows that it’s coming from someone who has difficulty receiving. Believe and receive. Learning to receive is a lesson in its self.

  7. Stef,

    I agree with Jen Ringer…. I feel like I should say thanks. Thanks for allowing us to know what is going on with you and keeping us with you through this time. Thanks for being real and transparent and honest. Thanks for letting Christ use your life, despite your cirmcumstance. And thanks for being the awesome person that you are regardless of what is happening right now. That is what makes everyone WANT to do anything and everything for you! We have been forever changed because of you. SO THANK YOU!
    Caron

  8. Hi Stefan, You knew me as Chris Barringer in high school. I just wanted to say that I have been praying for you and will continue to do so. I can’t imagine what you and your family have been going through, but I just hope and pray that you will continue to be comforted and find strength in the Lord. I pray for your complete recovery in Jesus name! 🙂 That’s the kind of news I want to hear in the near future! 🙂 “Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.” Eph. 3:20-21

    God bless you Stefan as well as your family!

    Cristin (yeah, I changed my name!)

  9. ‘thank you” is not just for the receiver but all the more for the one who speaks. it is an expression of one’s gratitude and gratefulness an overflowing of a good personality.

Leave a Reply

