Chemo – Round #3…

Check out this equation: Chemo week + stomach flu = ONE UNHAPPY STEF!!!

Yep, last week was NOT a fun week at all (and the main reason I have not been writing). I woke up Tuesday morning battling the stomach flu. The day of my chemo treatment, I get the stomach flu. Now what did I do to deserve this. This was just unfair and I was not happy about this at all!! Thursday and Friday were horrible days. I did manage some energy on Saturday and was able to make it to the first day of Derek’s soccer tournament.

To be honest with all of you, I really hate this. This is not fun and I am tired of it already and I am only just beginning. I have not cried out to God as much as I did on Thursday and Friday. I asked repeatedly for this burden to be take from me and for the pain to be taken from me and for complete healing VERY SOON!! I know I am on a journey, but I want it to end. It is punishing. It is inconvenient. It is robbing my family. It is robbing me of a good and sound life. OK, I will now come down from my pitty party soapbox. Thanks for allowing me to vent a little.

If you can’t tell, this was a difficult week physically and mentally. The hardest week I have had yet. I had more weak moments this week than I have had in quite some time. So, I turned to Scripture. Here is my question to all of you. When you have times like this. Times when you are angry, down, frustrated, whatever, what scriptures do you turn to?

12 Responses

  1. Stefan,

    How about – “This, too, shall pass” ?

    And please know that we ALL prayed for you last week as we knew it was a bad week.

    Hopefully, this week, you can get back on the peanut butter regimen.

  2. Interesting you should mention this Stephan. I read Jonah 2 with my kids this morning and prayed specifically for you upon reading this chapter. Jonah cries out from the belly of the great fish. It is a hopeful albeit visceral prayer. Praying for you.
    -Matt

  3. Whatever we go through God is there and He is Soverign. When David was at a downtime in his life he prayed the prayer in Psalm 86:1 -17 O Lord, hear my prayer and answer me for I am in deep trouble… Hear my urgent cry…..I will call on you and you will help… v10.. for you are great and do great miracles. You alone are GOD. You are constantly so kind and have rescued me from deepest pain….v16 – so look down in pity and grant me strength to your servant and save me. Send me sign of your favor! TLB. True faith begins with humility – knowing we can’t do it without God’s strength as Job reveals in Job 40, 42:5. As a result, God blesses Job more than before. God is consoling and comforting and He does everything in His time When you see one set of footprints in the sand He is carrying you! I feel for you and I am praying for you. You are surrounded by those who encourage you in His word and support you no matter what your circumstance! Lean on your family for help your love gives them strength! Thanks for sharing your honest feelings. We can pray more sufficiently. Take Care.

  4. Isaiah 43 :1-3 is one of many. It comforts me knowing the Lord is mindful and whatever happens I am His and He is mine, in and through it all.
    May you feel the reality of His presence Stef, each and every day.
    And hey, it’s ok to be real and vent. The Lord understands!

    “ Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
    I have called you by your name;
    You are Mine.
    When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
    And through the rivers, they shall not overflow you.
    When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned,
    Nor shall the flame scorch you.
    For I am the LORD your God,
    The Holy One of Israel, your Savior…”

  5. Psalm 34

    14 Turn from evil and do good;
    seek peace and pursue it.

    15 The eyes of the LORD are on the righteous
    and his ears are attentive to their cry;

    16 the face of the LORD is against those who do evil,
    to cut off the memory of them from the earth.

    17 The righteous cry out, and the LORD hears them;
    he delivers them from all their troubles.

    18 The LORD is close to the brokenhearted
    and saves those who are crushed in spirit.

    19 A righteous man may have many troubles,
    but the LORD delivers him from them all;

    20 he protects all his bones,
    not one of them will be broken.

    21 Evil will slay the wicked;
    the foes of the righteous will be condemned.

    22 The LORD redeems his servants;
    no one will be condemned who takes refuge in him.

  6. Stef, God gave me these verses today and now I know why- Luke22:31-32 ;Jos1:9 ;Ps 59:16 and one of my favs Isa 40:31. When my dad passed my friend reminded me that God is my father and he loves me more than I could ever imagine. I think about what I would do for Caleb as his mom and it pales in comparison to God’s love for you and I. Sometimes we do not understand God but just remember he loves you and will use this for his glory. Always praying for you and Sandi! Jen

  7. Isaiah 41:10, and 13, and Isaiah 42:6 Knowing that God is upholding me with His hand, holding my hand, and watching over me is very comforting. These verses have helped me, especially when facing surgery. Keeping you in prayer….

  8. Isaiah 41:10. I’m still praying for you and you’re family. Every day!

  9. Isaiah 40:28-31
    Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary and his understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths will grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall, but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

    I have to wake up and claim this verse every morning, but that is the great thing, every morning we can wake up and have to start trusting from scratch, but God doesn’t change and He still loves us,even when we are human. I will be praying for you.

  10. The Beatitudes Matthew 5-12
    5 When Jesus . saw the crowds, he went up the mountain; and after he sat down, his disciples came to him. 2Then he began to speak, and taught them, saying:
    3 “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
    4 “Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.
    5 “Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth.
    6 “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.
    7 “Blessed are the merciful, for they will receive mercy.
    8 “Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God.
    9 “Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.
    10 “Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
    11 “Blessed are you when people revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falselyb on my account. 12Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.

  11. Stef,
    “The name of the Lord is a strong tower:the righteous run to it and are safe.”-Proverbs 18:10
    Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers- remember ——

    God is the sheperd who guides,
    the Lord who provides,the voice who brings peace in a storm ,
    the physician who heals the sick,and
    the banner that guides the soldier.

    May you feel his healing soon.
    Dot

  12. Jeremiah 29:11-13 “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me and I WILL LISTEN TO YOU. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

    You and your family are in our thoughts and prayers..the ulreys

Leave a Reply

