Chemo Treatment 1…

iv_bag.jpgWell, after my small breakdown last night, I am happy to report that today was a great day! My first treatment at my oncologist’s office was really a non-event, no biggie. I am thankful for that. They loaded me up with some meds to ward off the evils of any sickness they may try to creep in early. Three hours later, my IV meds were in me and we were out of there. Just a side note that the nurses we had today were FANTASTIC!! Top notch in every aspect of my visit. That really helped to set the tone for our first visit.

Shortly after our arrival home, we were met by our home health nurse and our goodie bag of drugs, kits, pumps, whatever. Thirty minutes later, I was connected to my pump and it will be my best friend for the next two days. 4800 mgs of 5Fu will be flowing through my body and killing every cancer cell that it can find.

Right now, about 8+ hours into my treatment, I feel great. They say the side affects may start to set in tomorrow or Thursday, but I have my supply of meds to combat them and will push through it.

I will say, thank you again, for the prayers. I felt the peace and grace of God around me today as I was never anxious, scared, or in pain for this first treatment. I do know that the next few days may not be perfect, but the start of my chemo has been a positive event so far.

So, stay tuned, as we march forward!!

6 Responses

  1. I was thinking about how to go about praying for Stef’s cancer situation, and several things came to mind.

    One of the first things was something along the lines of a fundraising chart, like a thermometer, where someone fills in the level higher and higher as more is given. As it gets to the top, you are closer to the ultimate goal, and everyone is ecstatic. It gives everyone a visual aid to grasp on to and makes the situation more tangible and easier to understand and participate in. I thought maybe I’d take a 10 inch “thermometer” graph and apply it to Stef’s tumor situation. As the chemo attacks each inch of the tumor, I fill in another inch on the graph, at least in my mind, until we get to the top. . .the ultimate goal where Stef wins, as he so eloquently put it.

    Then I started thinking about another post I saw on AC180 entitled “Don’t waste your cancer” and how that affects how I pray. I may be wrong on this, but I think Stef said the doctors want this tumor to “soak up” the chemo as much as possible. I started thinking maybe I don’t want to necessarily hate this tumor to death. Maybe I should LOVE this tumor to death. Maybe I should pray for it. Pray that it tastes the chemo and realizes it loves it, and gobbles it up, like my kids do to anything with sugar in it. A prayer vigil came to mind and how people split time into shifts and take a certain time slot. But I combined it with my graph and thought maybe I could “adopt an inch” and take ownership of just a part of the tumor. Concentrate on a more manageable portion and love it to death. Others could do the same.

    I often think of love being attached to growing. Love grows. Love builds. Love fills up. But can love shrink? That’s a new one. If I adopt an inch, and pray for it all the time, I don’t want it to grow! So I have to adjust my thoughts on love, just as the above mentioned post changed my thoughts on cancer situations. Love is going to have to shrink this time. The more I give, the less I hope to see of the object I’m giving it to. I will put my heart and soul into it until it is gone and there is nothing to show for my efforts. As a man, this is weird. I want to build things, grow things, have something to show for my hard work. A finished product.

    I will hope that the finished product is a cancer-free Stef, the man, coach, dad, friend and neighbor I knew before all this. But we will all be different, changed forever for the better. I think the 10 inch graph above will have to be a shrinking graph. We erase more and more as we go. Join me in adopting Stef’s cancer. Love it to death. But remember. . . Love shrinks!

  2. Stef,

    Dude you are such an inspiration to me. Your bravery and outlook are a testimony to the great faith that you have. I pray for you and your family daily. You are awesome.

  3. Wow… Bob… that is a post-able comment. Nice thoughts.

  4. Stef ,
    What a testimony you are to strength, you can be assured that your family at McKesson/Per-se will be praying for you with all of our hearts.
    For me personally here in the land of the World famous Tigers!!!!- I will be praying for you and your family daily and will have my church put you on our listing on Sunday- we will pray for this to be gone.
    You are such a wonderful person , great worker, great father and a dear freind. Please know we are here for you —
    Live Strong.
    Dot

  5. This is the first time I stumbled across your blog, Stef. Your courage is awesome. I will keep you and your family in my prayers. I know God will be with you evey step of the way on your journey.

  6. I’m glad to hear that Chemo started better than the fears that preceded it. The unknown can be very intimidating but it’s so reassuring to know that our God knows what that unknown holds for us. Child like faith! Believing in what you can not see! It’s very encouraging to see you staying so lifted up. You are allowed to have bad days. Those “bad” days are when the support of those who have poured out there love will be needed. Our prayers are with you and your family.

Leave a Reply

