Visit with the Oncologist…

Well, we had quite a visit the other day. Way too much info thrown at us that included drugs, tests, dates, etc., but we are on it!! So here is a quick update on the last two days.

Saw the oncologist yesterday. We have chosen to start with chemo to stop the spreading and shrink the tumor. We are at peace that chemo is the way to go at this time. The cool thing is that I get to talk about cocktails and they are medically necessary!!! My chemo cocktail will consist of Oxaliplatin (with 5FU), Leucovorin and Avastin. The whole mix is called Modified FOLFOX6. My chemo treatments will start next Tuesday, July 31st. They will consist of about a three hour treatment at the oncologist’s office. Upon my arrival home from treatment, I will be met by a home health nurse who will hook me up to a pump. I will be on a chemo pump for 48 hours. This cycle will continue every two weeks.

Today, I had my port put in. This is a device that has been implanted in the left side of my chest and will be used to administer my chemo. It will be there for the endurance of my journey and will be removed when I win. Monday, I will be getting a PET/CT scan. The results of this scan will confirm the stage of my cancer and will also show us more definitively, where this has spread.

Sandi and I are doing well. Things are moving fast and we are ok with that. The faster I can get some drugs on board, the faster this stupid thing starts to shrink!!!!

The next prayer request we have is that either tonight or tomorrow, we will be sharing this illness with our kids. They need to know and need to know very soon as my treatments begin next week. Please pray that Sandi and I will have the words to speak and that they will understand and not be afraid.

TO GOD BE ALL THE GLORY!! AMEN!!!!!

12 Responses

  1. Stef –
    You are amazing..Praise God for your upbeat attitude.

    You know what today is? It’s my son’s (Stefan) 13th birthday. He’s the one who has your name. With your situation and his birthday, Stefans have been on our minds a lot lately.

    Talk to you later. We have you in our prayers.

    Mark

  2. “…and will be removed when I win,” That alone is greater faith than a mustard seed. That is centurion faith. Just say the word and he’ll be healed. For your children I pray peace and understanding. For you, your wife and the entire family, “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Bless you.

  3. “Trust in him at all times… pour out your heart before him… God is a refuge for us.”
    Psalm 62:8.

    May your kids catch the hope and faith that you are living.

  4. We’re praying for you and Sandi as you work through this with the kids. Praying they’ll receive it in the best way and that God will reveal Himself in a comforting way to all of you as you tackle this.

    Romans 15:13 – May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

    Thank you for your testimony of faith and hope…praying you’ll remain strong in Him!

  5. My prayers are with you. So much comes flooding into my mind as to what to say. Your faith will be your strength through this time. From the responses to your blogging you have a tremendous amount of support behind you. Stay strong and let your support help with that strength.

  6. Just saw Grits and Grace’s request for prayer! I am praying for you and God will provide! Love to you and your family!

  7. Praying for you so much. God has such an incredible plan for you, Sandi, and the kids.
    We’re claiming this verse for you guys, as it has been on our frig for almost a year now.
    God’s promises to His children never change.

    Jeremiah 29:11
    For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

  8. Stef- Your courage and strength that you are displaying in such a difficult time is amazing! Keep dreaming, keep planning, and keep your eyes fixed on the Lord. God bless you and your family! Talk to you soon.

  9. Stef-baby! You are a remarkable pillar of strength. My prayer is that God will continue to give you the strength and peace that passes all human understanding. You, Sandi and the kids are in my family’s thoughts and prayers continuosly.

    Stay focused and centered; we are ALL here for you and with you!

  10. Hi dear ones,

    You both have been blessed with incredible faith in your walk with God. I knew you were special when I met you and praise God everyday for our friendship. My prayer is that God’s Grace will continue to work in your lives.

    Please know that I can come any evening and help out if needed. Sandi, I can cook, clean and will be happy to prepare a meal too. (cell-313-5982)

    Much love, Betsy

  11. Stef I don’t know you but found your site, I want you to know that I have already prayed for you and will continue to keep you in my prayers. Just wanted to encourage you that God is sending random people your way to pray for you!!! May God bless you and your family!!! It’s by his stripes we are healed,,,,God Bless Todd

  12. i was reading all the other comments… and i have claimed the same verse as another family did.
    Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you declares the LORD; plans to prosper and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future”
    I hope the kids understand, and take it well.

    Praying for you all the time!
    Love always,
    Kels

Leave a Reply

