Pirates of the Caribbean – At World’s End REVIEW

potc3.jpgYes, you can read this. No spoilers will be included. Well, as promised, here is my take on the third installment of POTC. Let’s just say that it didn’t really start where the second one left off. It took me a little while to get my bearings, but once I did, the movie got a little slow. There were a few plots being intertwined and I am not sure that they did a good job of smoothly transitioning between plots. This movie was just too plot heavy.  The movie seemed more serious than the first two.  They seemed to have a little more slapstick that we have all come to expect.  Then again, this is just my opinion.

The movie was visually fantastic. Just like the first two, the costumes, sets, ships, etc. are very well done. My only comment on makeup is that Keira Knightley just seemed out of place at times. I mean her makeup and hair are practically perfect throughout the entire movie. Even after a great fight scene, she looks perfect and the two pirates she is standing by look like death warmed over.

Johnny Depp does another fantastic performance as Capt. Jack Sparrow. He should just really change his name to Jack Sparrow and get a TV series. He rocks as Capt. Jack!!  I also enjoyed the great cameo appearance by an old timer.  The movie is long.  Almost three hours and at times, it does feel that way.

Oh, one more thing.  The ending we all hoped for was not there.  So, POTC 3 gets a B- from me.  Better than the second, but not close to the first!

3 Responses

  1. As long as it isn’t an hour too long like the last one.

  2. Did you wait until after the credits?

  3. No, didn’t do that. Shoot me an e-mail and let me know what I missed. Don’t want to spoil anything for the readers.

Leave a Reply

