Meeting Tyler Alfriend…

Today I had the honor of meeting a courageous young man, Tyler Alfriend. Tyler is battling Burkitt’s Lymphoma. He was not having the best day (compliments of his chemo), so I did not get a chance to talk with him much. I am definitely waiting for that opportunity. I did, however, have the chance to talk with Mrs. Alfriend today. We shared our stories and we both know the trials, pain, ups, and downs of cancer. It was great to finally meet Tyler and his mom. I am looking forward to meeting Mr. Alfriend as well.

Please pray for Tyler. Pray for inner strength, comfort from the pain, wisdom for his care team, peace for his parents, and most of all, COMPLETE HEALING for this young man!!

Tyler, rock on, dude!! Looking forward to more meetings with you and your family! REFUSE TO LOSE!!

4 Responses

  1. Stef,
    Please call me Kathy! I feel REALLY old being called Mrs. Alfriend! I very much enjoyed meeting you today! I wish we could have met under different circumstances, but I believe God brought us all together for a reason. I remember the first day that we learned of your battle, through Jerry, and began praying for you and your family. It is a battle that we all will WIN! I know Tyler will enjoy wearing your “REFUSE TO LOSE!” t-shirt soon.
    We have a friend, (I believe I mentioned to you today) who is also fighting colon cancer, and he is currently in the hospital. He sees the same doctor as you, and is very pleased with him. I have told his wife about you, and I will be giving them your website address.
    Thank you again for taking the time to come and talk with us. Kyle would very much like to meet you too.
    With God all things are possible! And God willing – we will WIN!
    Kathy

  2. I would like people to extend their prayers to the Byers family. Their little girl who was 8 years old just lost her battle a few days ago to a rare form of cancer. She was diagnosed this past January 2007. Don’t let her age fool you as she was wise beyond her years. The lives she impacted for Christ are countless. I did not know her personally, but her story was shared with me & impacted me. Her website has not been updated in a few weeks (obviously), but you can meet this amazing little girl at http://www.jenessabyers.com. Take time to read through the family’s blog, and you will be encouraged for whatever you may be going through in your life. She went by the nickname Boey. She was a true fighter. God just missed His little angel, and so it was time to bring her home. Please remember her family in your prayers as I’m sure this is a VERY difficult time for them.

  3. Correction:

    She was diagnosed in January of 2006. Here is the link to the article from her towns newspaper about her passing.

    http://www.gazettetimes.com/articles/2007/12/29/news/top_story/2aaa01_boey.txt

  4. Having suffered from hodgkins, this was good to read. Thank you for this.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

